For the BEST in classic and new literary criticism ONLY via academic libraries, search in library databases.
Krstovic, Jelena. Hispanic Literature Criticism. Detroit: Gale Research, Inc., 1994.
PQ6039.H51994
Each section begins with an interview or essay by the author studied, followed by a selection of critical essays. Bibliography for each author includes sources in English only. Includes author and title index
Oviedo, José Miguel. Historia de la literatura hispanoamericana. Madrid: Alianza Editorial, 1995-2001. 4 v.
PQ7081.O85 1995 (also located in REF)
Four volume source covering Hispanic American literature from pre-hispanic times to the present. A good introduction for students seeking an overview of authors and their works, as well as critical analyses of the authors' primary works. The selection of authors is generous in breadth and depth. Offers historical background information as well as critical commentary by Oviedo, well known critic, essayist and academic. Extensive bibliographies after each section provide students with a list of books and articles to consult for further research.
Salas, Susan, ed. Hispanic Literature Criticism: Supplement. Detroit: Gale Group, 1999. Edición actualizada.
REF PQ 6039 .H5 1999 Suppl.
Updated volumes to the 1994 edition.
Solé, Carlos A., María Isabel Abreu. Latin American Writers. New York: Charles Scribner’s Sons, 1989.
REF PQ7081.A1 L37 1989.
Selection of authors is arranged chronologically tracing the history of Latin American literature. Essays are written by prominent scholars in their fields. Extensive biographical and critical studies bibliography appears after each essay. Bibliography includes sources in Spanish and English.
Luis, William, ed. Modern Latin American Fiction Writers. Dictionary of Literary Biography. Detroit: Gale Group.
REF PQ 7082.N7 M55
Selection of prominent and lesser known Latin American fiction writers. Essays contain biographical information as well as some analysis of the author’s major works followed by a bibliography. One unique feature of the series is the inclusion of illustrations by and/or of the authors. Includes cumulative index.