Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

What's Happening at the NEIU Libraries?

Gutiérrez Congressional Archive

by Steven Harris on 2021-07-27T11:34:44-05:00 | Comments

Gutierrez ImageThe NEIU Libraries are pleased to announce that we have completed processing the Luis V. Gutiérrez Congressional Archives. Congressman Gutiérrez, an NEIU alumnus, donated his personal papers to NEIU in December of 2018. The collection includes over 95 boxes of legislative files, correspondence, press releases, articles, bills, floor speeches, awards, photos, and campaign materials spanning Representative Gutiérrez' congressional career. 

University Archivist Hanna Ahn and archives assistant Fritz Eifrig have been working for the past two years on processing the collection, which included creating a useful intellectual arrangement, removing any confidential information, re-housing and labelling all the items in acid-free containers, and creating a finding aid to help users discover the information they are interested in. 

Ahn also secured a $5,000 grant from the Illinois State Historical Records Advisory Board to digitize the archives. Student assistant Anna Augustyn worked on the digitization project, which has also been completed and is now available for use, though some materials in the collection are only available onsite at NEIU. For more information about the collection, including viewing the physical objects, contact University Archives, 9am-5pm Monday through Friday (email: UniversityArchives@neiu.edu). 

Luis V. Gutiérrez Congressional Archives


 Add a Comment

0 Comments.

  Subscribe to Blog Updates



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.


  Archive



  Follow Us



  Facebook
  Twitter
  Instagram
  Return to Blog
This post is closed for further discussion.

title
Loading...