Education Research Guide

The Mental Measurements Yearbook is a 17-volume set available behind the Reference Desk. To find a review of a specific test, select a recent volume and look in the back at the Title Index. Each item ends with a review number. Look up the reviews of the tests by review number. Each entry contains two reviews.

You can also use the online version to the MMY - click on the link. Reviews from volumes 9-17 are available fulltext. NOTE: Two fulltext reviews are available for each test, in Complete Reference. Scroll to Notes to read these.

Tips for searching MMY online:

• If you know the title or author of the test, select title or author, and type the corresponding title or author in the search box. 
• If you are searching for tests in a subject, search the Buros Institute's Classified Subject Index. This index lists all the tests reviewed from the 9th edition to the present. It also lists tests by subject index.

NEIU Libraries maintains a collection of approximately 390 print tests and measurements in education and psychology known as the CMC Test collection. The CMC Test collection is located behind the Circulation Desk on the first floor of the Ronald Williams Library. Click the link above to display the library catalog records for tests in this collection. Note that you may click on a "Subject" of interest to you by selecting a link under the "Subject" list on the right side of the screen. The majority of the tests in this collection are related to education.

Tests in the CMC Test collection may only be accessed in the library and may not be circulated outside the library. 

• Email Robin Harris (r-harris14@@neiu.edu) for assistance accessing these materials.

The ETS Test Collection is a microfiche collection of unpublished tests meant to serve educators and psychologists. These tests may be freely reproduced without any modifications. Permission from the author must be obtained in order to use these materials in any other way (modifying, adapting, selling or distributing).

To search for a particular test, first consult the ETS Test Collection Cumulative Index toTexts in Microfiche, 1975-2000, located on the 1st floor in the Education Reference Collection (REF LB 3051 .T44 1975-2000 Index).

• The tests are listed in the book by subject, title, and author.
• Each test has an individual six digit number.
• Locate the test in the book that you would like to see and note the test number.

Once you have the test number, check the Tests in Microfiche drawer (on the 2nd floor) to see if NEIU has the particular test you are looking for. 

• Tests are listed in numerical order.
• NEIU has most tests.

Examples of tests:

• Purdue Reading Test, 000978
• Preschool Orientation and Mobility (O&M) Screening, 018766