How to Search by Subject
Using exact subject headings is the most accurate way to search for books.
There are three simple steps to a subject search:
1. Enter your subject heading as it appears in the Suggested Subjects box.
2. Then, replace Any Word Anywhere with Subject Heading in the drop-down menu.
3. Click Search.
Use keyword searching to do a more general search and identify subject headings.
Suggested Subjects
Try one of the following subjects in your next search. Be sure to include the dashes and parentheses as shown.
Artificial intelligence
Computer algorithms
Computer networks
Computers--Social aspects
Computers and civilization Note: This category includes computers & ethics
Computer graphics
Computers--History
Human-Computer interaction
Internet--Social aspects
Operating Systems (Computers)
Programming languages (Electronic computers)
Computers and women
This link opens in a new windowGather background information on your topic from hundreds of full-text encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos.
3D A-to-Z: An Encyclopedic Dictionary
Barron's Business Dictionaries: Dictionary of Computer and Internet Terms by 
BCS Glossary of Computing and ICT
Dictionary of Computing by 
100 Ideas that Changed the Web
Computer: A History of the Information Machine by These books can all be found on the 1st floor of the library, in the Reference section. Since they can not be checked out or leave the library, they should be on the shelf when you need them.
Computer Science and Computing by
As computers have infiltrated virtually every facet of our lives, so has computer science influenced nearly every academic subject in science, engineering, medicine, social science, the arts and humanities. Michael Knee offers a selective guide to the major resources and tools central to the entire industry. A discussion of three commonly used subject classification systems precedes an annotated bibliography of over 500 items. As computers have infiltrated virtually every facet of our lives, so has computer science influenced nearly every academic subject in science, engineering, medicine, social science, the arts and humanities. Michael Knee offers a selective guide to the major resources and tools central to the computer industry: teaching institutions, research institutes and laboratories, manufacturers, standardization organizations, professional associations and societies, and publishers. He begins with a discussion of the three subject classification systems most commonly used to describe, index, and manage computer science information: the Association for Computing Machinery, Inspec, and the Library of Congress. An annotated bibliography of over 500 items follows, grouped by material type, and featuring a mix of classic works and current sources.
Encyclopedia of Computer Science and Technology by
Covering more than basic computer commands and procedures, this encyclopaedia summarizes how technology has developed, the future of computer programs and applications, and the significance of computer components. Following an introduction and overview, there are approximately 750 to 800 entries.