From the Library to the Lab - NEIU Libraries Research Guides at NEIU Libraries

The video provides guidance on the best ways to share links in D2L for easy access to articles. It focuses on three vendors: EBSCO, JSTOR, and ProQuest, and explains how to locate permalinks in each.

In EBSCO databases, look for the share icon then choose “Create link”
In JSTOR, look for the REMOTE ACCESS URL under “Item details”
In ProQuest databases, click the “Copy URL” button

For help linking to databases from other vendors, please don't hesitate to reach out to me at eadmin@neiu.edu for assistance! I'm happy to help provide correct links for all of your course materials.

Questions? Leave a comment below.

Recent Posts

Back to Basics: Boolean Searching

Get a brief refresher on how to effectively use Boolean AND / OR operators to search library databases for research articles.Use AND to narrow and combine different ideas. Use OR to expand your search with synonyms.Include exact phrases in quotation marks (" ")Artificial Intelligence (AI) may make natural language searching more common in the near future, but for now, Boolean operators are still the most effective way to search library databases....

Create Citation Alerts to Stay Updated

This video provides a brief overview of how to create citation alerts for new articles in various databases, including EBSCO databases, Biological Abstracts, and PubMed.Nearly every library database has the feature that allows you to set up alerts for topics and authors – let new research come to you.The EBSCO databases are integrated with our usual sign-in procedureOther databases may require you to set up a separate account using your NEIU or personal email address....

Find Direct Links to Database Articles

The video provides guidance on the best ways to share links in D2L for easy access to articles. It focuses on three vendors: EBSCO, JSTOR, and ProQuest, and explains how to locate permalinks in each. In EBSCO databases, look for the share icon then choose “Create link”In JSTOR, look for the REMOTE ACCESS URL under “Item details”In ProQuest databases, click the “Copy URL” buttonFor help linking to databases from other vendors, please don't hesitate to reach out to me at eadmin@neiu.edu for assistance! I'm happy to help provide correct links for all of your course materials.Questions? Leave a comment below....

Resource Spotlight: PrepSTEP for Colleges and Universities

Learn about a resource that can supplement your course content and provide students extra support Highlights:Contains supplemental learning objects in writing, math, science, and moreSome objects are interactive, such as games, flashcards, and quizzesStudents can track their progress and provide a certificate of completion...