What's Happening at the NEIU Libraries?

More info: https://neiulibraries.libcal.com/event/13531395

Register at the following link: https://neiulibraries.libcal.com/event/13508462

The NEIU Libraries is honored to host a traveling exhibit from Nov 14-Dec 16 in the 1st floor gallery space - be sure to swing by to check it out!

From the Presbyterian Historical Society:

Assyrians are the last Aramaic-speaking ethnic community indigenous to a homeland between Iraq, Turkey, Syria, and Iran. Their communities were transformed by missionary education beginning in the 19th century, but documenting this history through Assyrian voices has proven elusive in the wake of their displacement. This exhibit's unique collection of papers and objects from the Lake Urmia region (Iran), documents the life, travels, and education of one Assyrian-Iranian family in the late 19th and early 20th centuries.

The letters, journal, historic images, passport, and currency that form the exhibit are intended to highlight the importance of archiving and preserving family-held documents that enhance deeper understanding of the modern evolution of social and cultural change, especially among indigenous minority populations. 

New Displays Alert! Explore a unique collection of vintage U.S. political campaign buttons, mostly from the mid-20th century, featuring presidential races, Illinois state elections, and Chicago city campaigns. These buttons capture key moments in American politics and offer a nostalgic glimpse into the candidates and causes that shaped those decades. Don’t miss this chance to see a colorful piece of political history!

Also, be sure to check out (ha!) our display of books related to voting and elections. Check out the images of the displays below:

Hey, NEIU community! It’s that time of the semester—midterms are here, and we know the struggle is real. 😫 Whether you’re a student juggling exams and assignments or a faculty member knee-deep in grading, the pressure is ON. But don’t worry—we’ve got your back!

We all know the NEIU Libraries have amazing academic resources, but did you know we’re also here for your much-needed study breaks? We want to remind everyone that we offer more than scholarly articles and textbooks. Much more! That’s where our Just For Fun resources come in. 🎉

Explore the Just For Fun Databases

Need a breather? Maybe a laugh? A puzzle to get your mind off that research paper? Check out our Just For Fun databases. We’ve curated a list of all our best recreational resources. Seriously, there’s something for everyone. Here are a few databases to try:

• Hobbies & Crafts Source: With books and magazines on everything from cooking to guitar playing to bird watching, you’ll find something to take your mind off of school for a little while.
   
• NoveList Plus: Want to read something other than your textbooks? Find your next fiction or non-fiction book in this database. Halloween is coming…how about something Atmospheric and Creepy?
   
• Naxos Music Library: Escape into a world of classical music, jazz, or world sounds. With over 3,000,000 musical pieces available on your computer or phone, you can chill with your favorite composer.

Catch a Movie Night In 🎬

Craving a movie break? We’ve got you covered! The library also provides access to a fantastic collection of streaming films. From documentaries to classic cinema to recent hits, there’s plenty to choose from. A few staff favorites to get you started:

• Persepolis (Academic Video Online): an animated coming-of-age film that tells the story of a young girl growing up in Iran during and after the Islamic Revolution, exploring themes of identity, rebellion, and resilience.
   
• Nine Days (Academic Video Online): a thought-provoking drama about a reclusive man who interviews souls for the opportunity to be born, delving into the meaning of life, existence, and human experience.
   
• Selections for Hispanic Heritage Month (Films On Demand): 

So, whether you’re taking a quick 10-minute breather between study sessions or want to settle in for a movie night, check out one of over 2,000 feature films or 15,000 documentaries available to stream from the NEIU Libraries.

Need Help Finding the Perfect Break?

Not sure where to start? Drop by the library, chat with us online, or shoot us a message. We can help you find the perfect fun read, show, or activity to dive into.

Don’t Forget to Take Care of Yourself 💖

As always, remember that taking breaks and caring for yourself is essential for staying productive and healthy during these stressful weeks. So, hit pause on your work, explore something new, and enjoy some well-deserved relaxation time.

Check out our full Just For Fun list, and happy midterms from all of us at NEIU Libraries!

See you around—and good luck with those exams! 💪

About National Hispanic Heritage Month

From www.hispanicheritagemonth.gov
Each year, Americans observe National Hispanic Heritage Month from September 15 to October 15, by celebrating the histories, cultures and contributions of American citizens whose ancestors came from Spain, Mexico, the Caribbean and Central and South America.

The observation started in 1968 as Hispanic Heritage Week under President Lyndon Johnson and was expanded by President Ronald Reagan in 1988 to cover a 30-day period starting on September 15 and ending on October 15. It was enacted into law on August 17, 1988, on the approval of Public Law 100-402.

The day of September 15 is significant because it is the anniversary of independence for Latin American countries Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras and Nicaragua. In addition, Mexico and Chile celebrate their independence days on September 16 and September18, respectively. Also, Columbus Day or Día de la Raza, which is October 12, falls within this 30 day period.

This year, the NEIU Libraries is celebrating with a physical and virtual book display - be sure to check them out!

Welcome back! As we start the Fall 2024 semester, the NEIU Libraries want to remind you that we are available wherever you are and have what you need for your academic success. We have locations on the main campus, El Centro, and CCICS, in addition to several options for working with you virtually. 

What a NEIU Librarian can do for you:

• Show you how to find research for an assignment, whether it’s printed books or articles, streaming, audio, images, news, data, maps, and more
• Broaden or narrow a research topic
• Help you find a textbook, ebook, or any books--in our library or materials we don’t have on-site
• Teach you the skills for finding peer-reviewed/scholarly articles
• Meet with you one-on-one to discuss research assignments
• Curate subject-specific research guides
• Provide guidance on citation formats
• Help you with your research and information needs

What the NEIU Libraries have for you:

• In-person and virtual library services
• Individual and group study space
• Access to computers, Wi-fi, black/white and color printers, scanners and copiers
• Zoom Rooms: Reserve a spot in one of these spaces and attend online sessions or meetings either using an available computer or your own laptop and headset.
• Low-contact pickup for books and other library materials. For more information on how to request items, please see our Introduction to Research Guide.
• Textbook Reserve Collection: See if we have a textbook you need on reserve, or ask your instructor to put in a request! You can also request a textbook for reserve by using this form.
• Laptop loans, video cameras, and Raspberry Pi kits.

What the NEIU Library Tech Desk Staff can do for you:

• Provide printing, scanning, and formatting support
• Answer questions about Google Suite, Microsoft Office, and other software
• Meet with you one-on-one to provide technology training or in-depth tech support
• Answer your general technology questions without an appointment at our NEIU Library Tech Desk
• Assist you with the specialized software in our Research and Publishing Lab, including SPSS and Minitab

NEIU librarians and staff are available via chat, you can schedule an online research appointment with a librarian via Google Meet or in person, and you can get technology help online or in person through our Tech Desk. 

For hours and more information, please see the NEIU Libraries website. 

Disability Pride Month is celebrated every July and is an opportunity to honor the history, achievements, experiences, and struggles of the disability community. Why July? It marks the anniversary of the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), landmark legislation that broke down barriers to inclusion in society.

People with disabilities deserve to live full, self-determined lives, just like everyone else. Yet discrimination persists for the 1 in 4 U.S. adults living with a disability.

Credit: https://thearc.org/blog/why-and-how-to-celebrate-disability-pride-month/

The NEIU Libraries is celebrating with a virtual Book Display - check it out!

This month, the NEIU Libraries celebrate Jewish American Heritage Month and recognize Jewish contributions to American culture, history, science, government, and more. The NEIU Libraries are pleased to partner with faculty members affiliated with the Jewish Studies Minor at NEIU to present a physical AND virtual book display!  The physical display can be found on the first floor of the Ronald Williams Library, and the virtual display can be found here: Jewish American Heritage Month