NEIU Libraries Research Guides: Philosophy Research Guide: Websites

Contact Me

he/him/his

Contact:

c-straughn@neiu.edu

773-442-4477

Subjects: Accounting, Business, Computer Science, Human Resource Development, Linguistics, Philosophy, School for the Advancement of English Language and Learning (SAELL), Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages (TESOL)

Featured Websites

While the NEIU Library makes many scholarly resources available to you, there are excellent resources on the internet as well. Here are some faculty and librarian-recommended pages of interest to students of philosophy.

PhilPapers
PhilPapers is a comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers. It also hosts a large set of open access (free) articles in the discipline. You may use your Facebook account to log in to the full range of features.
UP Directory
This directory publicizes information about philosophers who are members of traditionally underrepresented groups in philosophy. The purpose of the directory is to provide an easy-to-use resource for anyone who wants to learn more about the work of philosophers who belong to underrepresented groups within the discipline.
The History of Philosophy Without Any Gaps
Peter Adamson, Professor of Philosophy at the LMU in Munich and at King's College London, takes listeners through the history of philosophy, "without any gaps." The series looks at the ideas, lives and historical context of the major philosophers as well as the lesser-known figures of the tradition.
History of Philosophy in India
In this series of episodes, co-authored with Jonardon Ganeri (Professor of Philosophy at NYU, Visiting Professor at King's College London and Professorial Research Associate at SOAS - and author of numerous books and articles on Indian philosophy), Peter considers the rich philosophical tradition of India.
The Unmute Podcast with Myisha Cherry
Hypatia Reviews
Hypatia is a forum for cutting edge work in feminist philosophy. Since its inception in the mid-1980s, Hypatia has been a catalyst for broadening and refining feminist philosophy as well as an invaluable resource for those who teach in this area.
Wi-Phi - Open Access Philosophy Videos
Wi-Phi's mission is to introduce people to the practice of philosophy by making videos that are freely available in a form that is entertaining, interesting and accessible to people with no background in the subject.

E-Texts

The Perseus Digital Library
The Internet's largest collection of Greco-Roman texts and commentary.
more...less...
Perseus also includes smaller collections of Renaissance and 19th century American sources.
Bartleby: Great Books Online
Find quotations, free electronic books, and essays.
more...less...
The Non-Fiction section of the website offers essays and full-text copies of important works of philosophy.
Project Gutenberg
Project Gutenberg offers over 57,000 free eBooks. Choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online. You will find the world's great literature here, with focus on older works for which copyright has expired.

How to evaluate resources

Think about the WHO, WHAT, WHEN, and WHY of the resource.

The author is WHO created the resource.
- The author may be a person or even an organization.
- If you can’t tell WHO created what you are looking at or you aren’t sure about the person’s credentials that’s a warning that you might want to look for a different resource.
Next, look at WHAT the resource is about.
- Will it be useful for your research?
Also look at WHEN it was published.
- If you need current information, make sure the information is recent.
Think about WHY the resource was created.
- Is the author trying to convince you of her opinion or sell you something?
- On websites, look for a section that says “about us” or try searching to find out more about the website, journal, or publisher