Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Archives Guide

The University Archives preserves the historical records of NEIU and assists the NEIU community with research projects on those records.

University Archives Collection Information

COLLECTION POLICY

Established as a department of the Library in 1980, the University Archives’ chief purpose is to acquire, preserve, and make accessible the official historical record of Northeastern Illinois University. University Archives collects records of University departments and offices that are of enduring and historical value once they are past the period of active use. Examples of documents collected and accessioned by the University Archives include presidential papers, memoranda, council minutes, proceedings, Faculty Senate minutes, records of the Board of Trustees, records of grants and proposals, documents related to University-sponsored programs and activities, University budgets, publications of student organizations, and the school newspaper.

University Archives does not accept, and cannot house, any University records that are still in use, whether active or inactive. Offices and departments are advised to ensure that they have no current or frequent need for any records intended for transfer to University Archives. Records sent to University Archives that do not fit the purpose of University Archives will not be retained. Examples of University documents that are not collected or stored by the University Archives include student records, individual vitae of faculty, records of monetary gifts to the University, University bank statements, purchase orders or receipts, and personnel records. As a public collection open to anyone, confidential documents of any kind cannot be accepted.

The University Archivist, under the direction of the Associate Dean of Libraries, retains the responsibility and authority in determining which records will be housed in the Archives. The University Archivist establishes and maintains procedures to help ensure that only appropriate documents are transferred to the Archives to be processed and included in the collection. Those records and documents sent to the Archives that lack historical relevance will be returned or discarded.

The University Archives primarily collects documents in paper format. Digital formats may be accepted, but they will be evaluated by the University Archivist for their historical and enduring value.

The Library encourages the support of all University departments in developing this valuable collection to document our University’s history.

Archival Holdings

Examples of archived documents are:

  • Historical photographs
  • Presidential papers
  • Records from the various departments, such as Academic Affairs & Student Affairs
  • Memoranda, council minutes, proceedings, Faculty Senate minutes
  • Records of the Board of Trustees, University sponsored programs and activities
  • University budgets
  • Publications of student organizations, yearbooks, and the school newspaper
  • Blueprints of campus buildings and surrounding areas
  • Records of the various unions and events

There is also a small collection of documents pertaining to the Japanese American Internment Redress hearings and a related conference. Both events were held at Northeastern Illinois University in 1981.


Note: University Archives does not accept anything of a confidential nature which would be inappropriate to make publicly available or publish on the Internet, such as student and personnel records.