Skip to main content

University Archives Guide

The University Archives preserves the historical records of NEIU and assists the NEIU community with research projects on those records.

How NEIU Archival Materials are Organized

ORGANIZATION OF THE NEIU ARCHIVES

University Yearbooks, catalogs and class schedules, the University newspaper, and a small library are located on the back wall of the Archives Office. Documents in their respective record groups are filed on the shelves. Photographs and other non-print materials are outside of the Archives in file cabinets against the east wall of the library's lower level.

HOW THE DOCUMENTS ARE ORGANIZED

Libraries classify books with a catalog number and/or letter based either on the Library of Congress or Dewey systems. Archives classify documents based on the provenance (source) of the records, which are then filed into record groups.

The Northeastern Illinois University Archives organizes materials based on the University department of origin. Each University department and office has been assigned its own record group using an alphabet system. For instance, the Office of the President is record group 'D," so all materials received from that office will be filed into the "D" record group. The classification of the document is further broken down into a series, sub-series, and format.

Example: A memo from President Ronald Williams. This would be classified as: Record Group D, Office of the President. Series 2, University President. Memo, 51. The label on the folder containing the memo would read D 2/51.

NOTE

University Archives materials do not circulate, but photocopying is permitted. An NEIU ID card, driver's license, or some other sort of identification must be left with a member of the Archives staff when materials are taken out for photocopying.

University Archives Digital Collections

Citing Archival Materials

Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD)

Related Areas at NEIU

Finding Aids

Please contact the University Archives for information on our available finding aids.