University Archives Guide

The University Archives preserves the historical records of NEIU and assists the NEIU community with research projects on those records.

Have a Question?

The University Archives is located on the lower level of the Ronald Williams Library and is open by appointment to researchers Monday through Friday, between the hours of 9:00 am and 5:00 pm (excluding holidays and university closures).

An appointment is required. Contact information is listed below.


Ashley Howdeshell, CA
University Archivist
IRAD On-Campus Supervisor
Office: Library LL 015
Phone: 773-442-4416


NEIU Quick Facts

March 31, 1960 Campus Groundbreaking. Construction of the Beehive Building and the A and B Wings begins.

September 6, 1961 School opens as the North Side Teachers College, with Roy Jervis as Dean. First student newspaper is called 'The INTERIM'.

1962 Jerome Sachs installed as Dean, later becoming President of the University in 1966. President Sachs served from Fall 1966 to August 1973.

1965 School name changed to Illinois Teachers College North.

1966 Center for Inner City Studies established.

1967 Main campus renamed Northeastern Illinois State College.

March 1968 Student newspaper renamed 'The Northeastern PRINT'.

Jan 1971 Classroom Building Groundbreaking.

July 23, 1971 Main Campus renamed Northeastern Illinois University.

1972 Science Building dedication. Originally called 'The Lenny Bruce Building' by university students.

April 2, 1973 Classroom Building dedication. Speaker is Governor Dan Walker.

August 1973 Commuter Center Groundbreaking.

1973 James Mullen installed as President. Served until Fall 1976.

August 1975 Commuter Center construction completed.

1975 Former Parental School located on campus grounds close.

Fall 1976 Ronald Williams installed as President. Served until 1985.

1977 Library construction begins.

Sept 1977 Library opens.

1978 Chicago Teachers' Center is founded.

May 15, 1978 Library Dedication.

Fall 1986- Gordon Lamb installed as President. Served until Fall 1995.

May 8, 1987 Library named and dedicated to former NEIU President, Ronald Williams.

June 12, 1987 Beehive Building dedicated and renamed the Jerome M. Sachs Administration Building.

December 1988 Physical Education Building Dedication.

Fall 1995 Salme Steinberg installed as President. Served until 2007.

Fall 1996 Control transferred from Board of Governors to independent Board of Trustees. Board of Governors had formerly administered the following Universities: Chicago State, Eastern Illinois, Governors State, Northeastern, and Western Illinois.

Fall 2007 Sharon K. Hahs installed as President. Served until September 30, 2016.

November 8, 2012 El Centro Groundbreaking.

February 11, 2014 Chicago Teachers' Center (CTC) restructured and renamed as the Center for College Access and Success.

September 20, 2014 The university's new El Centro campus officially opens.

September 30, 2014 El Centro Opening Ceremony and Ribbon Cutting takes place.

May 14, 2015 Residence Hall Groundbreaking.

August 19, 2016 Ribbon Cutting ceremony of Northeastern Illinois University's first residence hall, The Nest.

October 1, 2016 Provost Richard Helldobler appointed Interim President.

April 1 - May 31, 2018 Wamucii Njogu appointed Acting President.

June 1, 2018 Gloria J. Gibson installed as President.