Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Archives Guide

The University Archives preserves the historical records of NEIU and assists the NEIU community with research projects on those records.

Guidelines and Procedures for Sending Materials to the Archives

All departments are welcome to submit materials for the University Archives. Please retain items for seven (7) years before transferring appropriate documents to the University Archives for evaluation of pertinence and importance, and permanent storage.

When an office or department has identified records it wants to archive, please do the following:

  1. Contact University Archives for an assessment. Assessments may be conducted on-site or by email.
  2. If the records are appropriate for transfer to the University Archives, please complete the University Archives Intake Request Form. For digital files, please use the University Archives Digital Files Transfer Form. (Digital files must be stored on an external physical medium, such as CD/DVD or external hard drive.) These forms are available below as print files or online forms. 
  3. Put the completed form(s) in the box(es) being transferred to University Archives; if using our online form, please print out a copy of your submission to include in your donation. 

Please follow the detailed procedures with the appropriate form to send documents to the University Archives. Thank you. 

University Archives Collection Policy

Established as a department of the Library in 1980, the University Archives’ chief purpose is to acquire, preserve, and make accessible the official historical record of Northeastern Illinois University. University Archives collects records of University departments and offices that are of enduring and historical value once they are past the period of active use. Examples of documents collected and accessioned by the University Archives include presidential papers, memoranda, council minutes, proceedings, Faculty Senate minutes, records of the Board of Trustees, records of grants and proposals, documents related to University-sponsored programs and activities, University budgets, publications of student organizations, and the school newspaper.

University Archives does not accept, and cannot house, any University records that are still in use, whether active or inactive. Offices and departments are advised to ensure that they have no current or frequent need for any records intended for transfer to University Archives. Records sent to University Archives that do not fit the purpose of University Archives will not be retained. Examples of University documents that are not collected or stored by the University Archives include student records, individual vitae of faculty, records of monetary gifts to the University, University bank statements, purchase orders or receipts, and personnel records. As a public collection open to anyone, confidential documents of any kind cannot be accepted.

The University Archivist, under the direction of the Associate Dean of Libraries, retains the responsibility and authority in determining which records will be housed in the Archives. The University Archivist establishes and maintains procedures to help ensure that only appropriate documents are transferred to the Archives to be processed and included in the collection. Those records and documents sent to the Archives that lack historical relevance will be returned or discarded.

The University Archives primarily collects documents in paper format. Digital formats may be accepted, but they will be evaluated by the Archives Librarian for their historical and enduring value.

The Library encourages the support of all University departments in developing this valuable collection to document our University’s history.