This link opens in a new windowReferences to articles from over 10,000 full text journals on a wide range of academic areas. Included is a searchable collection of images plus videos from the Associated Press from 1930 to the present.
This link opens in a new windowReferences to articles, books, and more on the psychological, social, and behavioral sciences, 1806 to present.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowA service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles, 1950s to present. While free to anyone, using this link will identify you as an NEIU user, making it easier to connect to our subscriptions.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowReferences to articles and other publications on social work, human services, and related areas, 1979 to present.
In this video, you will learn how to create and use keywords based on your research topic to search in an academic database.
Length: 1:28
If you start your search at the NEIU Libraries homepage, the links you follow will identify you as an NEIU user. This will help simplify linking to our resources.
Once you do a search in an article database, use links like these to get the full text of the article:
OR
They will link you to the NEIU Libraries catalog and let you know if we have a subscription to the article, making it available immediately via a link.
If the full text of an article is not available online, you will be directed to request a copy of the article through WorldShare interlibrary loan.
Note: You must be signed in to view request options.
Full-text of articles are available through the library. Login to get PDFs and other versions of many articles
If the NEIU Libraries has immediate access to a journal article, you'll see links under the "View Online" portion of the record. Choose and click on a link in order to open and download the article directly from the database.
Note: If there isn't a "View Online" portion of the record, this may mean that we do not have immediate access to this particular article. You may be able to request a PDF of the article through our WorldShare Interlibrary Loan program. Please see our Requesting Articles Through WorldShare instructions below
You will likely encounter two different icons related to article accessibility in the databases
This icon means you can download the journal article immediately. Click on the link to download the PDF
This icon means that this particular article is not available through the database you're searching. Click on the button to be brought to the article record on the NEIU Libraries website - look under "View It" to find the article in other databases, or under "How to Get It" to fill out a WorldShare request
If NEIU Libraries do not have the full-text of an article, place a request through WorldShare. These can arrive as soon as one business day to several weeks, but most come quickly.
