The reading and learning specialists in the Learning Success Center can show you how to use reading and learning strategies that really work. For example, there are ways to set a reading purpose, design note-taking plans, apply techniques for synthesizing difficult material, or apply learning strategies for college learning.
In addition to guided tutoring, the reading and learning tutor can provide materials for those who wish to work independently on reading speed, reading levels, and academic vocabulary.
If you would like to make an appointment, please contact the LSC via Nmail Chat.
Often times, it's difficult to start reading scholarly articles and book chapters without having a basic understanding of what a topic or argument is about. Need to write a paper on bipolar disorder, but you're not entirely sure how to define it? Start your research with Credo Reference, which gather information from credible online encyclopedias to give you straightforward information on tons of different topics. All of the article and video databases listed below are geared toward high school and beginning college students.
Gather background information on your topic from hundreds of full-text encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos.
Strengthen your reading, writing and grammar skills, build your vocabulary and improve your spelling skills using the interactive tutorials, practice tests, e-books and articles in this center to improve your core English knowledge.
Broad collection of popular full-text magazines and reference books. Magazines include People, Better Homes and Gardens, TIME, and Newsweek. Covers subjects including business, health, education, fitness, sports and leisure, personal finance, general science, multicultural issues, DIY, and fashion. Also includes photos, maps, and flags. The companion eBook collection contains reference books covering a broad range of general reference subjects, including biography, history, architecture, literature, cooking, health and wellness, science, self-help, religion, current events, sports, travel and more.
Designed for high school libraries and offers coverage of popular high school magazines and reference books. Wide range of subjects offered including art, history, sports, and music. Over 1,000,000 photos, maps, and flags. Full text magazines include Discover, US News & World Report, Scientific American, and more. The companion eBook collection covers a broad range of general reference subjects, including biography, careers, language arts, literature, government, math, science, current events, and social-emotional health.
References to articles from over 10,000 full text journals on a wide range of academic areas. Included is a searchable collection of images plus videos from the Associated Press from 1930 to the present.
