50 Chemistry Ideas You Really Need to Know
Advanced Organic Chemistry A: Structure and Mechanisms
Advanced Organic Chemistry B: Reactions and Synthesis
Organic Chemist's Desk Reference by
Launched in 1995 as a companion to the Dictionary of Organic Compounds, the Organic Chemist's Desk Reference has been essential reading for laboratory chemists who need a succinct guide to the 'nuts and bolts' of organic chemistry -- the literature, nomenclature, stereochemistry, spectroscopy, hazard information, and laboratory data. This third edition reflects changes in the dissemination of chemical information, revisions to chemical nomenclature, and the adoption of new techniques in NMR spectroscopy, which have taken place since publication of the last edition in 2011. Organic chemistry embraces many other disciplines -- from material sciences to molecular biology -- whose practitioners will benefit from the comprehensive but concise information brought together in this book. Extensively revised and updated, this new edition contains the very latest data that chemists need access to for experimentation and research.
These books can all be found on the 1st floor of the Ronald Williams Library, in the Reference section.
Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry by
Written for a broad, cross-disciplinary audience, the Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry addresses the fundamental discipline of biological chemistry underlying virtually all of the life sciences. This compilation of more than 500 different entries encompasses all aspects of biochemistry, as well as the extensions of this subject into the related fields of molecular biology, cell biology, genetics and biophysics. This comprehensive encyclopedia covers all areas of biological chemistry written by more than 500 selected international experts. Articles are generously illustrated including more than 800 images in four-color. Each entry contains a clear, concise review of the topic along with illustrations, a glossary of technical terms and a section for additional reading. Each entry further contains general background and term definitions as well as a comprehensive review of the current research in the field. Students, science journalists and scientists seeking a concise introduction to specific topics will appreciate the clear, tabular format of each entry. Also available online via ScienceDirect - featuring extensive browsing, searching, and internal cross-referencing between articles in the work, plus dynamic linking to journal articles and abstract databases, making navigation flexible and easy. For more information, pricing options and availability visit www.info.sciencedirect.com.
Macmillan Encyclopedia of Chemistry by
This unique 4-vol. set offers readers a complete overview of the broad spectrum of general chemistry. It enables them to obtain a basic yet thorough understanding of matter, the processes it undergoes, the principles that govern it and scientists who have been critical in the development of the field. Ninety-five biographical articles deal with prominent chemists, while other articles provide additional historical context, particularly with respect to 18th, 19th and 20th-century developments.
