NEIU Libraries Research Guides: Communication, Media & Theatre Research Guide: Getting Started

Best Communication Databases

Communication Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
References to journal articles, books, magazines, and more in the areas of mass media, communications theory, linguistics, organizational communication, phonetics, and speech pathology dating back to 1900. A merger of Communication & Mass Media Complete and Communication Abstracts, Communication Source is the premier database for communication and media studies.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An historical, fulltext archive of core journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
References to articles from over 10,000 full text journals on a wide range of academic areas. Included is a searchable collection of images plus videos from the Associated Press from 1930 to the present.
U.S. Major Dailies via ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search the 5 top U.S. newspapers in one place: Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post

If you're working off-campus, you'll need your NEIU NetID and password to access these resources.

Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
References to articles and books on film and television. Coverage varies by title.
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Delivers more than 62,000 video titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film and more. AVON includes every kind of video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, and raw footage.

View a list of their newly added content and subject highlights.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An historical, fulltext archive of core journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

If you're working off-campus, you'll need your NEIU NetID and password to access these resources.

Digital Theatre+ This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digital Theatre+ partners with over 50 theatre companies worldwide to provide streaming access to over 900 full-length theatrical productions and educational resources.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
References to articles, books, and more on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore, 1926 to present.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text journal collection of current humanities and social sciences journals from over 60 scholarly publishers.