Usually, it's simple.
But what if the NEIU Libraries don't have the book you need?
First, check to see if the book is held by other I-Share libraries. Click the blueBorrow 1st Available button and follow the instructions.
If the book is not available in I-Share, click Borrow through WorldShare interlibrary loan to request the book.
The Atlas of Climate Change by
This highly acclaimed atlas distills the vast science of climate change, providing a reliable and insightful guide to this rapidly growing field. Since the 2006 publication of the first edition, climate change has climbed even higher up the global agenda. This new edition reflects the latest developments in research and the impact of climate change, and in current efforts to mitigate and adapt to changes in the world's weather. The atlas covers a wide range of topics, including warning signs, vulnerable populations, health impacts, renewable energy, emissions reduction, personal and public action. The third edition includes new or additional coverage of a number of topics, including agreements reached in Copenhagen and Cancun, ocean warming and increased acidity, the economic impact of climate change, and advantages gained by communities and business from adapting to climate change. The extensive maps and graphics have been updated with new data, making this edition once again an essential resource for everyone concerned with this pressing subject.
The Atlas of Water by
Climate change, population increase, and the demands made by the growing number of people adopting urban lifestyles and western diets threaten the world's supply of freshwater, edging us closer to a global water crisis, with dire implications for agriculture, the economy, the environment, and human health. Completely revised and updated, The Atlas of Water is a compelling visual guide to the state of this life-sustaining resource. Using vivid graphics, maps, and charts, it explores the complex human interaction with water around the world. This vibrant atlas addresses all the pressing issues concerning water, from water shortages and excessive demand, to dams, pollution, and privatization, all considered in terms of the growing threat of an increasingly unpredictable climate. It also outlines critical tools for managing water, providing safe access to water, and preserving the future of the world's water supply.
Encyclopedia of Earthquakes and Volcanoes by
Praise for the previous edition:...an excellent reference book for high school students and lower-level undergraduates new to earth science. It will also be useful for public libraries and as a supplementary title for college libraries.--American Reference Books Annual...a valuable resource...--Christian Library Journal...this compact but detailed work describes, clearly and accurately, many of the forces that create the Earth's surface features...There are no other similar works.--School Library JournalEncyclopedia of Earthquakes and Volcanoes, Fourth Edition provides a single-source reference on recent and historical earthquakes and volcanic eruptions for the student and general reader doing research on this high-interest subject. This comprehensive A-to-Z resource explains the specific terms, concepts, people, and organizations associated with the sciences of catastrophe--seismology and volcanology--and covers the places in the world where these destructive phenomena have occurred, as well as key environmental issues, economic dilemmas, ethical concerns, and current advances in research and technology.New or substantially updated entries include:Anatolia earthquakeBanda Aceh earthquake and tsunamisChristchurch earthquakeEarthquakes and volcanoes in CaliforniaEarthquake reduction technologiesKrakatauLong Valley calderaMauna LoaMino-Owari (Nobi) earthquakeMount ShastaPacific Tsunami Warning SystemseismologyStratovolcanoVolcanic activity in Hawaiiand more.
The Encyclopedia of Volcanoes by
Volcanoes are unquestionably one of the most spectacular and awe-inspiring features of the physical world. Our paradoxical fascination with them stems from their majestic beauty and powerful, sometimes deadly, destructiveness. Notwithstanding the tremendous advances in volcanology since ancient times, some of the mystery surrounding volcanic eruptions remains today. The Encyclopedia of Volcanoes summarizes our present knowledge of volcanoes; it provides a comprehensive source of information on the causes of volcanic eruptions and both the destructive and beneficial effects. The early chapters focus on the science of volcanism (melting of source rocks, ascent of magma, eruption processes, extraterrestrial volcanism, etc.). Later chapters discuss human interface with volcanoes, including the history of volcanology, geothermal energy resources, interaction with the oceans and atmosphere, health aspects of volcanism, mitigation of volcanic disasters, post-eruption ecology, and the impact of eruptions on organismal biodiversity. Provides the only comprehensive reference work to cover all aspects of volcanology Written by nearly 100 world experts in volcanology Explores an integrated transition from the physical process of eruptions through hazards and risk, to the social face of volcanism, with an emphasis on how volcanoes have influenced and shaped society Presents hundreds of color photographs, maps, charts and illustrations making this an aesthetically appealing reference Glossary of 3,000 key terms with definitions of all key vocabulary items in the field is included
