will allow you to search for books, ebooks, DVDs, streaming videos, articles, and more in one place
will help you find search tools appropriate for your specific topic, usually to find peer reviewed/scholarly journal articles.
will let you search for a specific Journal in the NEIU Libraries' online journal, magazine, and newspaper subscriptions
If you start your search at the NEIU Libraries homepage, the links you follow will identify you as an NEIU user. This will help simplify linking to our resources.
Once you do a search in an article database, use links like these to get the full text of the article:
OR
They will link you to the NEIU Libraries catalog and let you know if we have a subscription to the article, making it available immediately via a link.
If the full text of an article is not available online, you will be directed to request a copy of the article through WorldShare interlibrary loan.
Do you have some information about a specific article already? Type what you know into our Citation Search tool and see if the NEIU Libraries have a copy.
In this video, you will learn how to evaluate the difference between scholarly journals and other kinds of periodicals, and how to describe the peer-review process.
Length: 1:24
This link opens in a new windowProvides nearly 350 active full-text nursing and allied health journals indexed in CINAHL, many with no embargo.
This link opens in a new windowProvides researchers, allied health professionals, nurses, and medical educators access to scholarly journals on many medical disciplines. Provides indexing, abstracts, and full text for hundreds of nursing and allied health journals, many of which are peer reviewed.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowA service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles, 1950s to present. While free to anyone, using this link will identify you as an NEIU user, making it easier to connect to our subscriptions.
This link opens in a new windowIndex of journal articles, books, theses, curriculum guides, conference papers, standards, and guidelines on a wide range of education topics. Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education.
This link opens in a new windowReferences to articles, books, and more on the psychological, social, and behavioral sciences, 1806 to present.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowReferences to articles, books, and more on sociology and related disciplines, 1952 to present.
Scholarly, peer-reviewed articles are most often written for professionals in the field. As a student, reading them can sometimes be a bit frustrating. Luckily there are guides that will help you learn how to read them.
Try Critical reading : making sense of research papers in life sciences and medicine.
Despite being written in 2006, its content is still relevant today.
This series of articles from the British Medical Journal walks readers through all the steps and includes examples of specific types of studies you will find in your article searches. Again, written awhile ago (1997!), but still relevant.
Might I suggest you start with...
Browsing the latest issues of the main scholarly journals in the field is an effective way to stay on top of the latest research. Here are links to some of our online journal subscriptions.
Most journal pages will have a notification service. Create a personal account and receive an email whenever the latest issue is published.
