NEIU Libraries Research Guides: African and African American Studies Research Guide: AFAM 301: Wheeler

Search NEIU Libraries Collections

Databases for African and African American Studies

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
References to articles from over 10,000 full text journals on a wide range of academic areas. Included is a searchable collection of images plus videos from the Associated Press from 1930 to the present.

JSTOR - African American Studies
Full-text scholarly journals.
JSTOR - African Studies
Full-text scholarly journals.
Project Muse - African American and African Diaspora Studies
Full-text books and journals.
Project Muse - African Studies
Full-text books and journals.

Education Databases

Education Abstracts
References to articles from core journals on education, 1983 to present. Click on "Advanced Search".

ERIC
References to journal articles and ERIC documents on all areas of education, 1966 to present. Click on "Advanced Search".

PsycINFO
References to articles, books, and more on the psychological, social, and behavioral sciences, 1806 to present. Step-by-step instructions to searching PsycINFO are listed elsewhere on this page.

Compilation of lesson plan links by James Rosenzweig

Teaching about Africa

Universities that have received Title VI grants from the National Resource Program of the US Department of Education are required to provide K-12 outreach and instructional materials on for the study of various world areas and languages, including Africa. The following African Studies Centers have developed online resources for K-12 or K-16 teachers including lesson plans, teaching resources, and links to primary source content.

Boston University's African Studies Center: Online Resources for Teachers
The Outreach Program at the African Studies Center offers teaching tips, lesson plans, and teaching resources that focus on important aspects of the continent’s history, geography, culture, specific countries, literature, and art. Check out the Teaching Africa Library!
Michigan State's K-12 Outreach Program
Curricular modules developed by Michigan State University for K-12 teachers.
Indiana University African Studies: Teaching Resources and Lesson Plans
Includes links to teaching resources (articles in trade publications), lesson plans, and PowerPoint presentations.
University of Wisconsin African Studies Program - Online Resources
Includes general resources for educators, lesson plans, and links by subject area.

There are also several digital collections of African primary source material that include lesson plans for educators.

Darfur Genocide Resource Collection
Facing History and Ourselves developed teacher resources on the history of the Darfur conflict and to help students develop an awareness of the various actions taken to end the violence in Darfur. As students explore how citizens, including many young people, international institutions such as the United Nations and the International Criminal Court, governments, and non-profit organizations have responded to the genocide in Darfur, they can reflect on their own role and responsibility as members of local, national and global communities.
Understanding the Horn of Africa
A set of modules for teachers in high school, college, and universities to integrate into their courses. The tab “Resources for Teaching” leads to a variety of material created for each module, including assignments, lectures (MS Powerpoint slides and background papers), book and film reviews, multimedia resources and targeted news feeds. You can download the lectures and modify them for use in your classroom, supplement them with video clips, suggested readings and other relevant material.
South Africa: Overcoming Apartheid, Building Democracy - For Educators
The activities are designed for students to critically engage with Overcoming Apartheid's unique multimedia materials in order to learn about white supremacy in South Africa and the popular struggle for freedom and equality. The exercises are aimed at high school students, but can be used or easily adapted in undergraduate courses.

Popular publications, such as the New York Times and National Geographic, offer lesson plans and teacher resources for educators.

National Geographic Classroom Resources
Teacher Resources from National Geographic for the study of Africa.
PBS - Africa, Teacher Tools
Lesson plans for African Arts & Music, Where in Africa, Eco-challenges, and Exploring African Culture.
Library of Congress - Teacher Resources
Historical documents, photos, film clips, and more from the Library of Congress, including lesson plans and resources.

APA Style

General Format on APA Formatting and Style Guide
from Purdue OWL

APA PowerPoint
Presentation outlining basic and stylistic guidelines for writing in APA style.

Videos for AFAM

Streaming Videos
TED Talks -- Africa
Browse all the TED talks that have been tagged "Africa."

Black Studies in Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This collection features award-winning documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage surveying the evolution of black culture in the United States, many from producers California Newsreel and Filmmakers Library. At present, the collection includes 145 videos, totaling 141 hours, going back to 1969. Many of the videos also have transcriptions.