NEIU Libraries Research Guides: African and African American Studies Research Guide: Articles

Databases for African and African American Studies

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
References to articles from over 10,000 full text journals on a wide range of academic areas. Included is a searchable collection of images plus videos from the Associated Press from 1930 to the present.
Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Essential historical and current material for researching the past, present and future of African Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself.

Archive of African Journals
To expand free, online access to journals published in Africa, the African e-Journals Project from Michigan State has digitized full text of articles of eleven social science and humanities journals and made them available on this web site. The African E-Journals Project has digitized full text of articles of eleven social science and humanities journals from the 1970s-2000s.
Sabinet
Based in South Africa, Sabinet has been a leader in facilitating access to electronic information for more than 30 years. Includes open access (free) collection of African journals.
African Journal Archive
African Journal Archive (AJA), a retrospective digitisation project, has been launched by Sabinet Gateway and the Carnegie Corporation. The archive fulfils to some extent the significant social and educational need in Africa and throughout the world to preserve journal literature emanating from publishers and societies on the continent. There are now 182 journals with 122 000 articles available online. Limit search to FREE content.
Free Africa-related ejournals
A list published by the African Studies Centre in Leiden, a multidisciplinary academic research institute, that includes free, Africa related, e-journals. (April 2014): 265 journals

The top journals for African Studies that the library has in full-text are:

African Affairs
African Affairs is the top ranked journal in African Studies. It is an interdisciplinary journal, with a focus on the politics and international relations of sub-Saharan Africa. It also includes sociology, anthropology, economics, and to the extent that articles inform debates on contemporary Africa, history, literature, art, music and more.
Journal of Modern African Studies
The Journal of Modern African Studies offers a quarterly survey of developments in modern African politics and society. Its main emphasis is on current issues in African politics, economies, societies and international relations.
Journal of Southern African Studies
The Journal of Southern African Studies (JSAS) is an international publication for work on the region of Southern Africa in the fields of history, economics, sociology, social anthropology, geography, development studies, and others.
Africa
Africa is an interdisciplinary journal devoted to the study of African societies and culture, and includes articles on the humanities, social sciences, and environmental sciences.

The top journals for African American Studies that the library has in full-text are:

Journal of Black Studies
Journal of Black Studies (JBS), peer-reviewed and published bi-monthly, for the last third of a century has been the leading source for dynamic, innovative, and creative research on the Black experience.
Ethnic and Racial Studies
The journal provides an interdisciplinary academic forum for the presentation of research and theoretical analysis, drawing on sociology, social policy, anthropology, political science, economics, geography, international relations, history, social psychology and cultural studies.
Patterns of Prejudice
Patterns of Prejudice provides a forum for exploring the historical roots and contemporary varieties of social exclusion and the demonization or stigmatisation of the Other. It probes the language and construction of ’race’, nation, colour, and ethnicity, as well as the linkages between these categories.
Race & Class
Race & Class is the foremost English language journal on racism and imperialism in the world today. For three decades it has established a reputation for the breadth of its analysis, its global outlook and its multidisciplinary approach.
Black Scholar
Black Scholar is an interdisciplinary journal providing cogent articles that help the understanding of issues of social concern to black Americans and other peoples of African descent across the world. The journal solicits especially writings by black authors.

AllAfrica.com
This site aggregates and distributes the news from more than 130 media organizations from all over the African continent. Their aim is to reflect the diversity of reporting, analysis and commentary from as many as possible of the influential media in every country. They include government and opposition-controlled papers, as well as the growing number of independent, professional news publications across the continent.
Al Jazeera News -- Africa
BBC News -- Africa

America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
References to articles and books on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present, indexing 1964 to present.
Communication Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
References to journal articles, books, magazines, and more in the areas of mass media, communications theory, linguistics, organizational communication, phonetics, and speech pathology dating back to 1900. A merger of Communication & Mass Media Complete and Communication Abstracts, Communication Source is the premier database for communication and media studies.
ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index of journal articles, books, theses, curriculum guides, conference papers, standards, and guidelines on a wide range of education topics. Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education.
PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
References to articles, books, and more on the psychological, social, and behavioral sciences, 1806 to present.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
References to articles, books, and more on sociology and related disciplines, 1952 to present.