NEIU Libraries Research Guides: Anthropology Research Guide: Biological Anthropology

Databases of Journal Articles on Biological Anthropology

At NEIU, we have access to several databases that have collections of journal articles in Anthropology.

Annual Review of Anthropology
The Annual Review of Anthropology, in publication since 1972, covers significant developments in the subfields of Anthropology, including archaeology, biological anthropology, linguistics and communicative practices, regional studies and international anthropology, and sociocultural anthropology.

Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A compilation of the Royal Anthropological Institute’s Anthropological Index and Harvard University's Anthropological Literature databases, covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research, 19th century to present.

JSTOR - Anthropology
Full-text access to over 100 journals in Anthropology. Journals may not be current. Add the phrase "AND disc:(anthropology-discipline)" to whatever keywords you'd like to search.
Project Muse - Anthropology
Full-text access to 10 journals and almost 1700 books focused on Anthropology.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Under Settings set Library Links to "Northeastern Illinois University - Full Text @ NEIU" to link to the NEIU Libraries subscriptions. This database is great if you want to take the "needle in a haystack" approach!

There are also collections of academic literature online devoted to the study of Biological Anthropology.

AMNH Research Library Digital Depository
The Anthropological Papers at the American Museum of Natural History, published continuously since 1907, are monographic volumes that include some of the great ethnographies of the 20th century, particularly on North American Indians.
PubMed - limiting to "Physical Anthropology"
PubMed links articles together using subject headings. There is a subject heading for Physical Anthropology -- click "ADD" on the left side of the page, then search MeSH headings again to narrow your search.

Books for Biological Anthropology

Books on Biological Anthropology are located on the first floor of the Ronald Williams Library. They are organized by call number in the GN 49-298 section (Physical anthropology). More specifically, books about certain topics within Biological Anthropology would be in the following sections:

GN51-59 Anthropometry
GN62.8-265      Human variation
GN269-279       Race (General)
GN280.7 Man as an animal
GN281-289       Human evolution
GN282-286.7   Human paleontology
GN296-296.5   Medical anthropology

Reference sources

Encyclopedia of Anthropology (Online) by H. James Birx (Editor)/Sage Publications
ISBN: 0761930299
Publication Date: 2005-12-08
Dictionary of Concepts in Physical Anthropology by Joan C. Stevenson
Call Number: REF. GN50.3 S741991
ISBN: 0313247560
Publication Date: 1991-08-30
Encyclopedia of Evolution by Mark D. Pagel (Editor)
Call Number: REF. QH360.2 .E54 2002 v.1-2
ISBN: 0195122003
Publication Date: 2002-04-02
History of Physical Anthropology by Frank Spencer (Editor)
Call Number: REF. GN50.3 H571997 v.1-2
ISBN: 0815304900
Publication Date: 1996-12-01
The Cambridge Dictionary of Human Biology and Evolution by Larry L. Mai; Marcus Young Owl; M. Patricia Kersting
Call Number: REF. QP34.5 .M24 2005
ISBN: 0521662508
Publication Date: 2005-06-23

Websites for Biological Anthropology

There are lots of online resources that offer visualizations on biodiversity, human origins, and evolution.

Human Origins Initiative - Smithsonian Institution
Includes research on human evolution, evidence for human evolution, human characteristics, educational and multimedia resources.
eSkeletons Project
eSkeletons provides an interactive environment in which to examine and learn about skeletal anatomy through our osteology database. By the University of Texas.
Biodiversity Heritage Library
Containing almost 100,000 volumes, The Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL) is a consortium of natural history and botanical libraries that cooperate to digitize the legacy literature of biodiversity held in their collections and to make that literature available for open access and responsible use as a part of a global “biodiversity commons.”
Encyclopedia of Life
Over 1.8 million species are represented in this encyclopedia, to which anyone can contribute. Volunteer curators ensure information is accurate, and users can limit information to only authoritative sources.
Complete Works of Charles Darwin Online
This site contains Darwin's complete publications, thousands of handwritten manuscripts and the largest Darwin bibliography and manuscript catalogue ever published; also hundreds of supplementary works: biographies, obituaries, reviews, and reference works.