NEIU Libraries Research Guides: Anthropology Research Guide: Cultural Anthropology

Databases of Journal Articles on Cultural Anthropology

At NEIU, we have access to several databases that have collections of journal articles on Cultural Anthropology.

AMNH Research Library Digital Depository
The Anthropological Papers at the American Museum of Natural History, published continuously since 1907, are monographic volumes that include some of the great ethnographies of the 20th century, particularly on North American Indians.
Annual Review of Anthropology
The Annual Review of Anthropology, in publication since 1972, covers significant developments in the subfields of Anthropology, including archaeology, biological anthropology, linguistics and communicative practices, regional studies and international anthropology, and sociocultural anthropology.

Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A compilation of the Royal Anthropological Institute’s Anthropological Index and Harvard University's Anthropological Literature databases, covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research, 19th century to present.

JSTOR - Anthropology
Full-text access to over 100 journals in Anthropology. Journals may not be current. Add the phrase "AND disc:(anthropology-discipline)" to whatever keywords you'd like to search.
Project Muse - Anthropology
Full-text access to 10 journals and almost 1700 books focused on Anthropology.

America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
References to articles and books on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present, indexing 1964 to present.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Once on the site, click the “hamburger icon” (3 horizontal lines at the top left). Visit Settings then Library links. Search for "NEIU Libraries - Find It @ NEIU", check its box, and click Save. This will let you easily link to the NEIU Libraries' subscriptions through Google Scholar. In the results list click the >> icon to see the Find It @ NEIU link.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
References to articles and books on the history of the world focusing on the 15th century to the present (excluding the United States and Canada), indexing 1955 to present.

PubMed - limiting to "Cultural Anthropology"
PubMed links articles together using subject headings. There is a subject heading for Cultural Anthropology -- click "ADD" on the left side of the page, then search or add more MeSH headings again to narrow your search.

Books

Here are the most common places you will likely find books related to cultural anthropology:

GN (First Floor): Anthropology
CR (Lower Level): Folklore
GT (First Floor): Manners and Customs

Also, depending on what you're researching, you may also browse the following areas:

E 75-99 (Lower Level): Indians of North America
F850.5-851.5 (First Floor): Pacific States
GF (First Floor): Human Ecology
P (Fourth Floor): Philology. Linguistics

You will also find books on the ethno-history of different countries and regions under D (World History and History of Europe, Asia, Africa, Australia, New Zealand, etc.), E and F (History of the Americas) in the basement. Each country or region has a call number for ethnography.

Reference sources

Encyclopedia of Anthropology (Online) by H. James Birx (Editor)/Sage Publications
ISBN: 0761930299
Publication Date: 2005-12-08
Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology (Available Online) by Alan Barnard (Editor); Jonathan Spencer (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780203866474
Publication Date: 2009-12-28
Encyclopedia of Cultural Anthropology by David Levinson; Melvin Ember (Editor)
Call Number: REF GN307 .E52 1996
ISBN: 9780805028775
Publication Date: 1996-06-01
Dictionary of Race, Ethnicity and Culture by Guido Bolaffi (Editor); Peter Braham (Editor); Sandro Gindro (Editor); Tullio Tentori (Editor); Raffaele Bracalenti (Editor)
Call Number: REF. GN495.6 .D53 2003
ISBN: 0761968997
Publication Date: 2002-12-26
Encyclopedia of Food and Culture by Solomon H Katz; William Woys Weaver
Call Number: REF. GT2850 .E53 2003 v.1-3
ISBN: 0684805685
Publication Date: 2002-12-17

Websites for Cultural Anthropology

American Folklife Center Online Collections and Presentations
The American Folklife Center provides online access to selected portions of their collections. Online content may include audio samples of music and stories, digital images of rare letters and photographs, and video clips.
Smithsonian Center for Folklife and Cultural Heritage
Their online exhibitions bring the Smithsonian’s cultural research to a worldwide audience. Includes collections on arts, education, music, and storytelling.

Popular Anthropology

Savage Minds
Savage Minds is a group blog that has been writing about sociocultural anthropology since 2005. Check out the long list of recommended blogs on their website for more reading.
Anthropoliteia
Critical perspectives on police, security, crime, law and punishment around the world
Anthropologizing
Blog by Amy Santee, an applied anthropologist working in the field of design/user experience research. Started as a place to talk about all things anthropology and her evolving understanding of how to apply it in the “real world.”
Anthropologists in Practice series / Anthropologizing
Anthropologists in Practice is an ongoing interview series featuring practicing anthropologists who work outside universities. The goal of the series is to provide a source of information and inspiration to anyone who is interested in the application of anthropology in the real world, including anthropologists, anthropology students, prospective anthropology students, employers, policymakers and the general public.