Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies Research Guide

PRB harnesses the power of population data to inform and advance solutions to the most urgent challenges facing our world and improve the well-being of people globally.

Women and International Migration

The Women’s Bureau champions policies and standards that safeguard the interests of working women, advocates for the equality and economic security of women and their families, and promotes quality work environments.

Official website of the United Nations providing information on the latest available gender data and assessment of progress towards gender equality.

9to5 organizes nationwide and in our chapter states to build grassroots power, win people-centered policy change, and develop leaders to fight for a world where we can all thrive.

Women Employed (WE) relentlessly pursues equity for women in the workforce by effecting policy change, expanding access to educational opportunities, and advocating for fair and inclusive workplaces so that all women, families, and communities thrive.

This database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States.

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.

An archive of the The Abortion Counseling Service of Women's Liberation, better known by its nickname "Jane", part of the The Chicago Women’s Liberation Union (CWLU) Herstory Website Project.

The Oral History Center of The Bancroft Library documents the history of California, the nation, and our interconnected world. In the early 1970s the Suffragists Oral History Project, under the auspices of the Bancroft Library's Regional Oral History Office, collected interviews with twelve leaders and participants in the woman's suffrage movement.

The UCSF Japanese Woodblock Print Collection consists of four hundred Japanese woodblock prints on health-related themes. It is the largest collection of woodblock prints related to health in the United States and an important component of the Library's East Asian Collection. A number of the prints in the collection deal with women's health

Women in World History is an online curriculum resource center to help high-school and college world history teachers and their students locate, analyze, and learn from primary sources dealing with women and gender in world history

The collection is an exploration of women's impact on the economic life of the United States between 1800 and the Great Depression.

The Chicago LGBT Hall of Fame is both a historic event and an exhibit. Through the Hall of Fame, residents of Chicago and the world are made aware of the contributions of Chicago’s lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender communities and the communities’ efforts to eradicate homophobic bias and discrimination.

The Gay, Lesbian & Straight Education Network (GLSEN) works to ensure that LGBTQ students are able to learn and grow in a school environment free from bullying and harassment.

The Homosaurus is an international linked data vocabulary of LGBTQ+ terms. Designed to enhance broad subject term vocabularies, the Homosaurus is a robust and cutting-edge thesaurus that advances the discoverability of LGBTQ+ resources and information.

The Human Rights Campaign and Human Rights Campaign Foundation fight to make equality, equity and liberation a reality for all lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and queer people.

The National LGBTQ Task Force is dedicated to achieving freedom and justice for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer people, and their families through proactive, targeted, change-inducing initiatives.

Parents, Friends and Family of Lesbians and Gays (PFLAG) ​is the nation's largest organization dedicated to supporting, educating, and advocating for LGBTQ+ people and those who love them.

The Guttmacher Institute continues to advance sexual and reproductive health and rights through an interrelated program of research, policy analysis and public education designed to generate new ideas, encourage enlightened public debate and promote sound policy and program development. The Institute’s overarching goal is to ensure the highest standard of sexual and reproductive health for all people worldwide.

The Chicago Women's Liberation Union is a radical women's liberation organization that is over three years old. We have over 300 members, and many different programs aimed at changing the lives of all women and building a new society in which all people will have the opportunity to develop their full potential.

Founded in 1981, Gerber/Hart Library and Archives seeks to collect, preserve, and make accessible the history and culture of LGBTQ+ communities in Chicago and the Midwest in order to advance the larger goal of achieving justice and equality.

Formed from the movement that secured the right to vote for women, the centerpiece of the League’s efforts remain to expand participation and give a voice to all Americans. We do this at all three levels of government, engaging in both broad educational efforts as well as advocacy. Our issues are grounded in our respected history of making democracy work for all citizens.

UN Women is the UN organization dedicated to gender equality and the empowerment of women. A global champion for women and girls, UN Women was established to accelerate progress on meeting their needs worldwide.

The Kinsey Institute's mission is to promote interdisciplinary research and scholarship in the fields of human sexuality, gender, and reproduction.

The National Marriage Project (NMP) is a nonpartisan, nonsectarian, and interdisciplinary initiative located at the University of Virginia. The Project’s mission is to provide research and analysis on the health of marriage in America, to analyze the social and cultural forces shaping contemporary marriage, and to identify strategies to increase marital quality and stability.

The archives of Women in Science and Engineering (WISE) includes personal and professional papers of women in all areas of the sciences and engineering, except that of the medical sciences, as well as records of women’s organizations in these fields. WISE collections document a number of areas of the professional lives of individual women scientists and engineers, including their education, mentoring relationships, research, teaching, and professional careers in work settings, primarily in universities and governmental agencies. The collections include both the papers of Iowa State alumnae and faculty and women not affiliated with the university.