If you need a "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" article, try searching in the following databases. Note: for many of the databases you will need to check a box that says "Scholarly Journals" or "Peer- reviewed" in order to limit your search to scholarly content. If you need more guidance, ask your professor or email the librarian!
References to articles from over 10,000 full text journals on a wide range of academic areas. Included is a searchable collection of images plus videos from the Associated Press from 1930 to the present.
References to journal articles, books, magazines, and more in the areas of mass media, communications theory, linguistics, organizational communication, phonetics, and speech pathology dating back to 1900. A merger of Communication & Mass Media Complete and Communication Abstracts, Communication Source is the premier database for communication and media studies.
References to articles, books, and more on the psychological, social, and behavioral sciences, 1806 to present.
References to articles, books, and more on sociology and related disciplines, 1952 to present.
Collection of nearly 100 reference titles in support of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion issues across all subjects
This groundbreaking collection includes over 6,000 high-quality e-books on the topic of diversity, equity, and inclusion (DEI).
Index of journal articles, books, theses, curriculum guides, conference papers, standards, and guidelines on a wide range of education topics. Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education.
This full-text database is a dedicated resource covering the culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America.
References to professional and scholarly book, journal, and conference content from 1972. Key titles include: Sex Roles, Feminist Media Studies, Journal of Sex Research, Gender & Education and Journal of Gender Studies.
LGBTQ+ Source is the definitive database for LGBTQ+ studies. It provides scholarly and popular LGBTQ+ publications in full text, plus historically important primary sources, including monographs, magazines, newspapers, and videos. It also includes a specialized LGBTQ+ thesaurus containing thousands of terms.
Bibliographic database for women’s studies and feminist research, providing indexing and abstracts for hundreds of publications in sociology, history, international relations and humanities.
Search the 5 top U.S. newspapers in one place: Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post
A source of comprehensive reporting and analysis on news and current events, 1923 to present.
If you start your search at the NEIU Libraries homepage, the links you follow will identify you as an NEIU user. This will help simplify linking to our resources.
Once you do a search in an article database, use links like these to get the full text of the article:
OR
They will link you to the NEIU Libraries catalog and let you know if we have a subscription to the article, making it available immediately via a link.
If the full text of an article is not available online, you will be directed to request a copy of the article through WorldShare interlibrary loan.
In this video, you will learn how to create and use keywords based on your research topic to search in an academic database.
Length: 1:28