Catapano, Peter and Rosemarie Garland-Thomson, eds. About Us: Essays from the Disability Series of the New York Times. New York: Liveright Publishing Corporation, 2019.
Bibliography of First-Person Narratives of Madness in English (5th edition). A 25-page list of texts authored by psychiatric survivors or mad people. It also lists narratives written by the family members of mad people (p. 26-27) and other resources (p. 28-31).
Eghigian, Greg, ed. From Madness to Mental Health: Psychiatric Disorder and Its Treatment in Western Civilization. New Brunswick; London: Rutgers University Press, 2010.
Ingram, Allan, ed. Patterns of Madness in the Eighteenth Century: A Reader. Liverpool: Liverpool University Press, 1998.
Peterson, Dale, ed. A Mad People's History of Madness. Pittsburgh: University of Pittsburgh Press, 1982.
Susko, Michael A. Cry of the Invisible: Writings from the Homeless and Survivors of Psychiatric Hospitals. Baltimore: Conservatory Press, 1991.
Gilman, Charlotte Perkins, and Catherine Golden. Charlotte Perkins Gilman’s The Yellow Wall-Paper: a Sourcebook and Critical Edition. New York: Routledge, 2004.
Shannonhouse, Rebecca. Out of Her Mind: Women Writing on Madness. New York: Modern Library, 2003.
Wilson, Susannah. Voices from the Asylum: Four French Women Writers, 1850-1920. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2010.
Disability History Museum. “Our collections - Documents and Visual Stills - are associated with the cultural and social history of people with disabilities across the lifespan and diagnosis categories. The records here illuminate everyday practices, dominant ideologies, and alternative perspectives. You will find individual voices as well as the opinions and rhetoric of groups. [...] Most, but not all, of the Collections' records were produced in the United States from 1800 to the present.”
Asylum Magazine (1986-2021). “Asylum magazine is a forum for free debate, open to anyone with an interest in psychiatry or mental health. We especially welcome contributions from service users or ex-users (or survivors), carers, and frontline psychiatric or mental health workers (anonymously, if you wish).”
Phoenix Rising magazine (1980-1990, 30 issues). “This brave Canadian magazine was born in a two-bedroom apartment in downtown Toronto, fueled by the determination of psychiatric survivors and activists Carla McKague and Don Weitz. Over its decade of existence, the resolutely political publication focused a critical eye on a shifting spectrum of mad issues: homelessness, pharmacology, policy, sexuality, electroshock, prisons, poverty, medical experimentation, the place of children and the elderly in the mental health system. Phoenix Rising also celebrated the agency and talents of mad Canadians. Indeed, its very name symbolized the potential of psychiatric survivors coming together in support, acknowledgement, and action. The pages of Phoenix Rising are full of mad voices – in personal stories, book reviews, cartoons and, perhaps most powerfully, in published letters sent in from across the country and beyond.”
“It's Our Story is a national initiative to make disability history public and accessible; we've collected over 1,300 video interviews from disability leaders across the country since 2005. Now, we're making this critical aspect of American history public, accessible and interactive.” Visit the It’s Our Story YouTube archive.
University of California, Berkeley Digital Collections. “Digital Collections provides online access to UC Berkeley Library’s rare and unique digitized special collections, books, manuscripts, images, photographs, newspapers, and more.”
Disability and Climate Change: A Public Archive Project. “Disability and Climate Change: A Public Archive Project bears witness to the harms disabled people face amidst climate disruption—and it documents the wisdom disabled people bring to navigating this crisis. The stories in the archive are fresh conversations with disability-identified activists, advocates, artists, first responders, policymakers, and other communal leaders.”
Gallaudet University Library Digital Collections. “The Gallaudet University Library Deaf Collections and Archives works diligently to build, maintain and organize the world's largest collection of materials related to the Deaf Community, as well as the home to Gallaudet University's institutional records and the records of the Gallaudet family. Included in the collection are artifacts, photographs, films, papers, periodicals, books, and other items. While maintaining a comprehensive collection, the importance of preserving the records of the global Deaf Community and collaborating with other repositories to ensure the longevity of items is essential.”
Dialogues on Disability. A series of interviews (2015 - present) that is “designed to provide a public venue for discussion with disabled philosophers about a range of topics, including their philosophical work on disability; [...]; their experiences of institutional discrimination and exclusion, [...] resistance to ableism, racism, sexism, and other apparatuses of power; accessibility; and anti-oppressive pedagogy.”
EveryBody: An Artifact History of Disability in America web exhibition (Smithsonian National Museum of American History). “The EveryBody exhibition is an introduction to the history of disability in America, covering politics, relationships, work, technology, health and more. Just as language about disability has changed (with movement away from stigmatizing terms such as crippled, handicapped, or invalid), so has understanding of it, with civil rights becoming paramount.”
The Museum of DisABILITY History’s Virtual Museum. “The Museum of disABILITY History is dedicated to advancing the understanding, acceptance and independence of people with disabilities. The Museum's exhibits, collections, archives and educational programs create awareness and a platform for dialogue and discovery.”
