Need research help or have a question?
Welcome to the Global Studies Research Guide. This guide will provide you with resources to help you with your research.
NEIU Department of Global Studies
A resource guide that helps you start your research at NEIU Libraries.
References to articles from over 10,000 full text journals on a wide range of academic areas. Included is a searchable collection of images plus videos from the Associated Press from 1930 to the present.
Civil Rights and Social Justice This link opens a new window
Covers the expansion of civil rights in America through government publications (including the Commission on Civil Rights), legislation, Supreme Court briefs, and more.
Credo DEI Collection This link opens in a new window
Collection of nearly 100 reference titles in support of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion issues across all subjects
Credo Reference This link opens a new window
Gather background information on your topic from hundreds of full-text encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos.
Diversity & Ethnic Studies eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
This groundbreaking collection includes over 6,000 high-quality e-books on the topic of diversity, equity, and inclusion (DEI).
References to articles, ERIC documents, and more on all areas of education, 1966 to present.
References to journal articles, books, reviews, and selected chapters for international material on anthropology, cultural studies, economics, education, ethnology and ethnography, political science, and sociology, 1951 to present.
LGBTO+ Rights This links opens a new window
A collection of subject-coded materials charting the gay rights movement in America, showing the civil rights codified into law in the 20th and 21st centuries, as well as the inequalities that still exist today.
A combined search of ProQuest's PAIS Index, Policy File Index, Political Science Database, and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Indexing and abstracts of more than 770 periodicals, nearly 700 of which are peer-reviewed. Among these are many of the most important English-language social science journals. It offers coverage dating back to 1972.
Index and full text databases on the social sciences, including politics, sociology, education and criminal justice, 1871 to present
Women & Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
Resource focusing on the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000. The collection includes full-text documents, book, film, and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools.
Databases and Online Resources
The full list of databases and online resources to which the library subscribes, with additional valuable open access resources
What Does "Peer Reviewed" or "Refereed" Mean?
Peer Review is a process that journals use to ensure the articles they publish represent the best scholarship currently available. When an article is submitted to a peer-reviewed journal, the journal's editors send it out to other scholars in the same field (the author's peers) to get their opinion on the quality of the scholarship, its relevance to the field, its appropriateness for the journal, etc. Publications that don't use peer review (i.e. Time, Newsweek, or Psychology Today) simply rely on the judgment of the editors as to whether an article meets the publication's standards.
If you start your search at the NEIU Libraries homepage, the links you follow will identify you as an NEIU user. This will help simplify linking to our resources.
Once you do a search in an article database, use links like these to get the full text of the article:
OR
They will link you to the NEIU Libraries catalog and let you know if we have a subscription to the article, making it available immediately via a link.
If the full text of an article is not available online, you will be directed to request a copy of the article through WorldShare interlibrary loan.
