Sociology Research Guide

References to articles from over 10,000 full text journals on a wide range of academic areas. Included is a searchable collection of images plus videos from the Associated Press from 1930 to the present.

This collection features award-winning documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage surveying the evolution of black culture in the United States, many from producers California Newsreel and Filmmakers Library. At present, the collection includes 145 videos, totaling 141 hours, going back to 1969. Many of the videos also have transcriptions.

Covers the expansion of civil rights in America through government publications (including the Commission on Civil Rights), legislation, Supreme Court briefs, and more.

References to journal articles, books, magazines, and more in the areas of mass media, communications theory, linguistics, organizational communication, phonetics, and speech pathology dating back to 1900. A merger of Communication & Mass Media Complete and Communication Abstracts, Communication Source is the premier database for communication and media studies.

A source of comprehensive reporting and analysis on news and current events, 1923 to present.

Collection of nearly 100 reference titles in support of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion issues across all subjects

Full-text database with scholarly journal articles and other sources on criminology, corrections administration, criminal law, criminal justice, law enforcement, addition, family law, industrial security, and rehabilitation, 1981 to present.

This groundbreaking collection includes over 6,000 high-quality e-books on the topic of diversity, equity, and inclusion (DEI).

Provides full text of articles from over 350 journals as far back as 1996, in addition to indexing of more than 770 periodicals dating back to 1983.

Index of journal articles, books, theses, curriculum guides, conference papers, standards, and guidelines on a wide range of education topics. Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education.

References to articles and books on film and television. Coverage varies by title.

References to journal articles, books, reviews, and selected chapters for international material on anthropology, cultural studies, economics, education, ethnology and ethnography, political science, and sociology, 1951 to present.

An historical, fulltext archive of core journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

A scholarly resource of current issues, studies, and trends of the legal world. For attorneys, educators, businesspeople, law librarians, students, and paralegals.

LGBTQ+ Source is the definitive database for LGBTQ+ studies. It provides scholarly and popular LGBTQ+ publications in full text, plus historically important primary sources, including monographs, magazines, newspapers, and videos. It also includes a specialized LGBTQ+ thesaurus containing thousands of terms.

References to articles, books, and more on national and international political, social, and public policy issues, 1915 to present.

A combined search of ProQuest's PAIS Index, Policy File Index, Political Science Database, and Worldwide Poltical Science Abstracts

References to articles, books, and more on the psychological, social, and behavioral sciences, 1806 to present.

Indexing and abstracts of more than 770 periodicals, nearly 700 of which are peer-reviewed. Among these are many of the most important English-language social science journals. It offers coverage dating back to 1972.

References to articles and other publications on social work, human services, and related areas, 1979 to present.

References to articles, books, and more on sociology and related disciplines, 1952 to present.

Resource focusing on the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000. The collection includes full-text documents, book, film, and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools.