NEIU Libraries Research Guides: Urban Community Studies Research Guide: Find Articles

Finding Articles

NEIU Libraries offer a variety of article indexes, also known as Databases. Databases provide item and subject access to selected peer-reviewed journals, full-text periodicals, reports, books and more. Databases differ from one another in areas covered, titles collected, how the search is organized and how items are accessed.

The guides on this page recommend Interdisciplinary Databases and a selection of Databases relevant to Urban Community Studies Education.

Many articles indexed in the databases will link to full-text in PDF or HTML format. When full-text is not immediately available in a database, click to reveal full-text electronic holdings (in other databases) or records for the item in print in the NEIU Library Catalog. If an article is not availble in any of NEIU's electronic or print holdings, it may be ordered through WorldShare.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
References to articles from over 10,000 full text journals on a wide range of academic areas. Included is a searchable collection of images plus videos from the Associated Press from 1930 to the present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An historical, fulltext archive of core journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text journal collection of current humanities and social sciences journals from over 60 scholarly publishers.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
In your browser under Settings, set Library links to "NEIU Ronald Williams Library - Full Text @ NEIU" to access to the NEIU Libraries' Subscriptions through Google Scholar. In the results list click the >> icon to see the Find It @ NEIU link.

Urban Community Studies Education Databases

African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provide access to U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience, including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles.
African American Periodicals, 1825-1995 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search more than 170 African American Periodicals published between 1825 and 1995
Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Essential historical and current material for researching the past, present and future of African Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself.
Black Thought & Culture This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
More than 1,300 non-fiction published works of 1,210 authors, including leading African Americans. Includes complete non-fiction works, as well as interviews, journal articles, speeches, essays, pamphlets, and letters.
Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full text of articles from over 350 journals as far back as 1996, in addition to indexing of more than 770 periodicals dating back to 1983.
ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
References to articles, ERIC documents, and more on all areas of education, 1966 to present.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
References to articles and books on the history of the world focusing on the 15th century to the present (excluding the United States and Canada), indexing 1955 to present.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
References to journal articles, books, reviews, and selected chapters for international material on anthropology, cultural studies, economics, education, ethnology and ethnography, political science, and sociology, 1951 to present.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
References to articles, books, and more on sociology and related disciplines, 1952 to present.
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
References to articles from popular teacher and educational administration journals and magazines to assist professional educators. Anyone can access this database for free at http://www.teacherreference.com.