When a professor asks that you find scholarly articles on a topic for a research paper, it can be confusing to know where to start, how to find them, and how to tell what counts as a scholarly article. The tutorials on this page are all about how to find scholarly, or peer-reviewed, articles in the library "databases."
Below are videos that answer the questions: What is a journal and peer-reviewed article? What are the library databases? And, how do I search in a database?
In this video, you will learn how to evaluate the difference between scholarly journals and other kinds of periodicals, and how to describe the peer-review process.
Length: 1:24
In this video, you will learn what a database is (vs. a website or search engine), and how to evaluate which database may be best suited for your own research.
Length: 1:23
In this video, you will learn how to create and use keywords based on your research topic to search in an academic database.
Length: 1:28
If you start your search at the NEIU Libraries homepage, the links you follow will identify you as an NEIU user. This will help simplify linking to our resources.
Once you do a search in an article database, use links like these to get the full text of the article:
OR
They will link you to the NEIU Libraries catalog and let you know if we have a subscription to the article, making it available immediately via a link.
If the full text of an article is not available online, you will be directed to request a copy of the article through WorldShare interlibrary loan.
This link opens in a new windowReferences to articles from over 10,000 full text journals on a wide range of academic areas. Included is a searchable collection of images plus videos from the Associated Press from 1930 to the present.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowFull-text database with scholarly journal articles and other sources on criminology, corrections administration, criminal law, criminal justice, law enforcement, addition, family law, industrial security, and rehabilitation, 1981 to present.
This link opens in a new windowIndex of journal articles, books, theses, curriculum guides, conference papers, standards, and guidelines on a wide range of education topics. Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education.
This link opens in a new windowReferences to articles, books, and more on the psychological, social, and behavioral sciences, 1806 to present.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowReferences to articles, books, and more on sociology and related disciplines, 1952 to present.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowReferences to articles and other publications on social work, human services, and related areas, 1979 to present.
