NEIU Libraries Research Guides: Counselor Education Research Guide: COUN 401: Prof Orientation

Recommended Databases for COUN 401

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
References to articles from over 10,000 full text journals on a wide range of academic areas. Included is a searchable collection of images plus videos from the Associated Press from 1930 to the present.
ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index of journal articles, books, theses, curriculum guides, conference papers, standards, and guidelines on a wide range of education topics. Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Once on the site, click the “hamburger icon” (3 horizontal lines at the top left). Visit Settings then Library links. Search for "NEIU Libraries - Find It @ NEIU", check its box, and click Save. This will let you easily link to the NEIU Libraries' subscriptions through Google Scholar. In the results list click the >> icon to see the Find It @ NEIU link.
PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
References to articles, books, and more on the psychological, social, and behavioral sciences, 1806 to present.
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
References to articles and other publications on social work, human services, and related areas, 1979 to present.

Additional Databases

Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full text of articles from over 350 journals as far back as 1996, in addition to indexing of more than 770 periodicals dating back to 1983.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An historical, fulltext archive of core journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

Find the Full Text of an Article

If you start your search at the NEIU Libraries homepage, the links you follow will identify you as an NEIU user. This will help simplify linking to our resources.

Once you do a search in an article database, use links like these to get the full text of the article:

They will link you to the NEIU Libraries catalog and let you know if we have a subscription to the article, making it available immediately via a link.

If the full text of an article is not available online, you will be directed to request a copy of the article through WorldShare interlibrary loan.