Counselor Education Research Guide

At present, there exists no comprehensive database that can be used to locate information about assessment instruments in the field of psychology. Researchers therefore utilize four major databases to access information about psychological tests and measures: APA PsycTESTS, a repository and index of psychological tests developed for research but not made commercially available; Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) with Tests in Print (TIP), which provides information about and reviews of select English-language, commercially available tests; Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI), which provides information about behavioral tests (both psychological and non-psychological) that are relevant to the health sciences; and APA PsycTESTS, the comprehensive database of scholarly journal articles in the field of psychology. While these four databases often overlap in terms of the information they provide, they are nevertheless unique in their coverage, and none can be substituted for another.

NEIU Libraries maintains a collection of 381 print tests and measurements in education and psychology known as the CMC Test collection. The CMC Test collection is located behind the Circulation Desk on the first floor of the Ronald Williams Library. Click the link above to display the library catalog records for tests in this collection. Note that you may use the search bar to search for a specific keyword (like 'intelligence' or 'personality'). The majority of the tests in this collection are related to education.

Tests in the CMC Test collection may only be accessed in the library and may not be circulated outside the library. To visit the library and access a test in the CMC Test collection, undertake the following steps:

• Reserve a two-hour block of time to visit the library during the library's open hours.
• Email Ed Remus, Social Sciences Librarian, at e-remus@neiu.edu. Inform him of the day/time of your reservation and of your intent to access an item in the CMC Tests collection. Ed will then coordinate with the library's circulation desk staff to ensure that you are given access to the test upon arrival.

The following books include tests and measures:

These books are useful reference resources but do not include full tests: