NEIU Libraries Research Guides: Geography & Environmental Studies Research Guide: Books

New Books in the Collection

Concise Dictionary of World Place-Names (online) With over 9,000 entries, from Aachen to Zyrardów, this dictionary gives the history, meanings, and origin of an enormous range of country, region, island, city, and town names from around the world. In doing so, it reveals religious and cultural traditions, the migration of peoples, the ebb and flow of armies, the presence of explorers, local languages, industrial developments, topography, as well as superstitions and legends.
Student Atlas of World Geography Combines full-color maps and data sets to introduce students to the importance of the connections between geography and other areas of study such as world politics, environmental issues, and economic development.

Encyclopedia of Environment and Society by Paul Robbins
Call Number: ONLINE. HM856 .E53 2007eb
ISBN: 1412953928
Publication Date: 2007-08-27

Encyclopedia of Earth
A free, fully searchable collection of articles--written by scholars and other professionals--on Earth, its natural environments, and their interaction with society.
PLANTS Database
This United States Department of Agriculture resource provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories

Handbook of Global Environmental Politics by Peter Dauvergne
Consisting of original articles by leading scholars of global environmental politics, this landmark work maps the latest theoretical and empirical research in this young and growing field.
A Handbook of Globalisation and Environmental Policy by Frank Wijen, Kees Zoeteman, and Jan Pieters
State-of-the-art examination of the critical effects of globalisation on environmental governance.
International Encyclopedia of Environmental Politics by John Barry and E. Gene Frankland
The essential reference source to enable all those with an interest in the politics of the environment to explore topics in international environmental politics.
The Princeton Guide to Ecology by Simon A. Levin
A concise, authoritative reference to ecology's major subjects and key concepts.
The Environmental Debate: A Documentary History
This unique collection of primary documents examines the evolution of concern about environmental degradation, pollution, and resource conservation in America from the Colonial period the present.