Political Science Research Guide

A source of comprehensive reporting and analysis on news and current events, 1923 to present.

An historical, fulltext archive of core journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

Note: Due to budget cuts, access to this database ended on June 30, 2024.

Please consider the following as alternatives:

• Legal Source
• Business Source Premier
• Regional Business News

References to articles, books, and more on national and international political, social, and public policy issues, 1915 to present.

A combined search of ProQuest's PAIS Index, Policy File Index, Political Science Database, and Worldwide Poltical Science Abstracts

Index and full text databases on the social sciences, including politics, sociology, education and criminal justice, 1871 to present

Indexing and abstracts of more than 770 periodicals, nearly 700 of which are peer-reviewed. Among these are many of the most important English-language social science journals. It offers coverage dating back to 1972.

References to articles from the international literature of political science and international relations, including international law and public administration/policy.

References to articles from over 10,000 full text journals on a wide range of academic areas. Included is a searchable collection of images plus videos from the Associated Press from 1930 to the present.

References to articles and books on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present, indexing 1964 to present.

References to journal articles, books, magazines, and more in the areas of mass media, communications theory, linguistics, organizational communication, phonetics, and speech pathology dating back to 1900. A merger of Communication & Mass Media Complete and Communication Abstracts, Communication Source is the premier database for communication and media studies.

Full-text database with scholarly journal articles and other sources on criminology, corrections administration, criminal law, criminal justice, law enforcement, addition, family law, industrial security, and rehabilitation, 1981 to present.

More than 500 titles on this topic including periodicals, key compiled federal legislative histories, relevant congressional hearings, CRS Reports, Supreme Court briefs, and more

References to articles and books on the history of the world focusing on the 15th century to the present (excluding the United States and Canada), indexing 1955 to present.

References to articles (many full text) and government-issued pamphlets (full text) pertaining to all branches of the military. Coverage varies.

Resource focusing on the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000. The collection includes full-text documents, book, film, and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools.