Political Science Research Guide

American Community Survey (ACS) is a mandatory, ongoing statistical survey that samples a small percentage of the population every year -- giving communities the information they need to plan investments and services.

Texts of the U.S. treaties from the 94th Congress (1975) to the present.

Every treaty and international agreement entered into by any UN member.

The UN Human Rights Treaty Bodies that monitor the core international human rights treaties.

Provides lists of human rights treaties organized by subject matter and ratification of international human rights treaties by country - and shows when treaties were entered into force.

Website maintained by the Library of Congress. Use to find information related to congressional bills, resolutions, public laws, amendments, and voting histories. Searches a variety of government publications including the Congressional Record and Committee Reports.

The U.S Government Printing Office (GPO) provides publishing and dissemination services for the official and authentic government publications to Congress, Federal agencies, Federal depository libraries, and the American public. Collections include: the Code of Federal Regulations; Compilation of Presidential Documents; Congressional Bills, Calendars, Documents, Hearings, Record, and Reports; the Federal Register; Public and Private Laws; United States Code; and United States Courts Opinions.

Open States is a collection of tools that make it possible for citizens to track what is happening in their state's capitol by aggregating information from all 50 states, Washington, D.C., and Puerto Rico.

Site features Illinois legislation and laws, including bills and resolutions, compiled statutes, public acts, and legislative reports, information about the House and Senate members and committees and their contact information, as well as transcripts and audio/video from the Assembly.

LII is a not-for-profit organization that believes everyone should be able to read and understand the laws that govern them, without cost. They publish law online, for free, create materials that help people understand law, and explore new technologies that make it easier for people to find the law. Includes Wex, LII's community-built, freely available legal dictionary and legal encyclopedia, and links to federal & state law resources, the Constitution, U.S. Code, Supreme Court, State statutes, and world law.

Information and documents from the Supreme Court.

Includes most recent decisions and archives of past decisions.

Includes opinions and oral arguments for the Supreme and Appellate Courts of Illinois.

Includes examples on how to cite US Supreme Court Decisions, those of Lower Federal Courts, Federal Statutes, State and U.S. Constitutions, Congressional Hearings, Congressional Bills, and Federal Legislative Reports and Documents.

Includes examples on how to cite Congressional Reports, Bills, Resolutions, Commissions, Hearings, Statutes, Congressional Debates, Treaties, etc.