This link opens in a new windowProvide access to U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience, including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles.
This link opens in a new windowSearch more than 170 African American Periodicals published between 1825 and 1995
This link opens in a new windowContains more than 6,500 periodical titles dating from 1684 to 1912, with a focus on the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction. The collection's periodicals cover almost every facet of American life, including science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women’s fashion, family life, and religion.
This link opens in a new windowA digital collection drawn from a national project to locate, preserve, and disseminate Hispanic culture of the United States in its written form since colonial times until 1960. Included are 60,000 historical articles, hundreds of political and religious pamphlets and broadsides, and the complete texts of over 1,100 historical books of Hispanic literature, political commentary, and culture.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowEssential historical and current material for researching the past, present and future of African Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowFull text, 1849-1999
This link opens in a new windowA source of comprehensive reporting and analysis on news and current events, 1923 to present.
This link opens in a new windowDetailed indexing with full text and image (illustrations, advertisements, etc.) of Harper's Weekly magazine from 1857-1912.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowHistorical collection offers full page and article images with searchable full text.
Note: Due to budget cuts, access to this database ended on June 30, 2024.
Please consider the following as alternatives:
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowA multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world, including every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowSearch the 5 top U.S. newspapers in one place: Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post
This link opens in a new windowResource focusing on the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000. The collection includes full-text documents, book, film, and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools.
