History Research Guide

References to articles from over 10,000 full text journals on a wide range of academic areas. Included is a searchable collection of images plus videos from the Associated Press from 1930 to the present.

References to articles and books on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present, indexing 1964 to present.

Essential historical and current material for researching the past, present and future of African Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself.

References to articles and books on film and television. Coverage varies by title.

Once on the site, click the “hamburger icon” (3 horizontal lines at the top left). Visit Settings then Library links. Search for "NEIU Libraries - Find It @ NEIU", check its box, and click Save. This will let you easily link to the NEIU Libraries' subscriptions through Google Scholar. In the results list click the >> icon to see the Find It @ NEIU link.

References to articles and books on the history of the world focusing on the 15th century to the present (excluding the United States and Canada), indexing 1955 to present.

An historical, fulltext archive of core journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

A combined search of ProQuest's PAIS Index, Policy File Index, Political Science Database, and Worldwide Poltical Science Abstracts

Full text journal collection of current humanities and social sciences journals from over 60 scholarly publishers.

References to articles, books, and more on the psychological, social, and behavioral sciences, 1806 to present.

Index and full text databases on the social sciences, including politics, sociology, education and criminal justice, 1871 to present

Indexing and abstracts of more than 770 periodicals, nearly 700 of which are peer-reviewed. Among these are many of the most important English-language social science journals. It offers coverage dating back to 1972.

Resource focusing on the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000. The collection includes full-text documents, book, film, and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools.