NEIU Libraries Research Guides: History Research Guide: HIST 392: Bueno

Finding Books

WorldCat Discovery Library Catalog Search
ou can search for books relevant to your topic by using the search box located at the center of the NEIU library website. Try searching for multiple keywords, one after the other, such as incarceration immigrant Latino. Place entire phrases in quotation marks: "Disproportionate minority contact". After clicking the Search button to get your search results, use the "Sort by" drop-down menu in the upper right to sort your results by "Relevance Only" in order to see the results most relevant to your search terms, no matter which library offers them. On the left side of the results screen, under Format, check the box next to Book to limit your results to books, ebooks, and theses/dissertations.
I-Share in NEIU Libraries Catalog
Use I-Share to search for and request books held at Illinois libraries beyond NEIU.

Some Food-Related Books and Subject Classifications

Books on Agriculture and the Environment
Books on Food Supply
Books on Government Policy and Food Supply
Books on Obesity
Books on the Social Aspects of Food
Books and e-books at NEIU and in I-Share on the social aspects of food and drink.

Food by John Coveney
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 9781134083794
Publication Date: 2013-07-18
Broken down into sections where food is considered as "humanness," "identity," "politics" and "industry," this great book also includes chapters on the production and consumption of specific foods, sustainability, politics, and justice.
Food and Drink: The Cultural Context by Donald Sloan (Editor)
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 9781908999054
Publication Date: 2013-10-31
This text explores the complex relationships between food and drink, and individuals and society, in areas such as health, the environment, the distinctiveness of cultures, and the cohesiveness of communities. With international contributions (UK, France, USA), it provides a combination of theoretical inquiry and practical insight to explore aspects of consumer behavior, with specific reference to trends in taste, products that are environmentally and culturally sustainable, food and wine tourism, the growth in reliance on standardized and processed products, and the use of restaurants and bars as theaters for conspicuous consumption and the display of adopted lifestyles.
Foodies, Second Edition by Josée Johnston; Shyon Baumann
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 9781317745013
Publication Date: 2014-12-05
This cultural analysis tells two stories about food. The first depicts good food as democratic. Foodies frequent 'hole in the wall' ethnic eateries, appreciate the pie found in working-class truck stops, and reject the snobbery of fancy French restaurants with formal table service. The second story describes how food operates as a source of status and distinction for economic and cultural elites, indirectly maintaining and reproducing social inequality.
Pandora's Lunchbox by Melanie Warner
Call Number: HD9000.5 .W339 2013
ISBN: 9781451666731
Publication Date: 2013-02-26
Considers the history and cultural significance of the increasingly processed and industrialized nature of the food we eat.
Tastes of Paradise by Wolfgang Schivelbusch; David Jacobson (Translator)
ISBN: 0394579844
Publication Date: 1992-07-07
"It began with pepper and other spices, like cinnamon and nutmeg, some eight hundred years ago. Then came coffee, tea, and chocolate, followed by alcohol and opium--all articles of pleasure people in the Western world craved in order to escape from their humdrum lives and heighten their daily enjoyment." Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved

Finding Scholarly Journals Articles on Food and Drink

Depending on your specific topic, one or many databases of scholarly journals may be useful for you. Google Scholar and Academic Search Complete are multidisciplinary and have journal articles from all different subjects, but depending on what you decide to research, using a subject-specific database will limit your results to a single disciplinary context.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
References to articles from over 10,000 full text journals on a wide range of academic areas. Included is a searchable collection of images plus videos from the Associated Press from 1930 to the present.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
References to articles and books on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present, indexing 1964 to present.
Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
References to articles on all disciplines in the life sciences, 1926 to present. You do not have to create a Clarivate account to use this database. If you end up on this page, scroll down to the Institutional Sign In section and choose OpenAthens Federation.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary search engine that sits on top of NEIU's database collection. Under "Settings," set "Library Links" to "Northeastern Illinois University - Full Text @ NEIU" to link to the Library's collections.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
References to articles and books on the history of the world focusing on the 15th century to the present (excluding the United States and Canada), indexing 1955 to present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An historical, fulltext archive of core journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
References to articles, books, and more on national and international political, social, and public policy issues, 1915 to present.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
References to articles, books, and more on sociology and related disciplines, 1952 to present.

These are three scholarly journals that we have in full-text that are focused on the cultural implications of specific foods.

Finding Newspaper Articles

Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text newspapers and magazines published by ethnic, minority, and native presses in English and Spanish, 1990 to present (coverage varies by title).

How should I search in a database?

In this video, you will learn how to create and use keywords based on your research topic to search in an academic database.

Length: 1:28