NEIU Libraries Research Guides: History Research Guide: HIST 392: Steinwedel

Article Databases

You realize that you need to find a peer-reviewed journal article for your assignment? Watch this video to learn more about this kind of resource, so you can be more successful finding what you need in the databases listed below.

Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
References to articles and books on the history of the world focusing on the 15th century to the present (excluding the United States and Canada), indexing 1955 to present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An historical, fulltext archive of core journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text journal collection of current humanities and social sciences journals from over 60 scholarly publishers.

Primary source collections online about the Soviet Union

Stalinka: Digital Library of Staliniana
A collection at the University of Pittsburgh that comprises visual materials and artifacts relating to Stalin: photographs, posters, paintings, banners, sculptures, chinaware, pins, etc.
Soviet Posters at the National Library of Scotland
A collection of posters from the Soviet Union between 1919 and 1930 illustrates the concerns of a new Communist state.
The Bakwin Soviet Posters Collection
The University of Chicago's collection of Soviet political posters produced in the early 1930s.
Swarthmore College Peace Collection
The Swarthmore College Peace Collection has over 150 propaganda posters from the early years of the Soviet Union (1920s-1930s). All posters have been digitized, and the text from some has been translated into English.
Russia and Eastern Europe in Rare Photographs, 1860-1945
Subjects include Russian Orthodox churches, monasteries, and ecclesiastical art; views of cities, as well as small provincial towns; secular architecture; tsarist- and Soviet-era political exiles; and the diverse peoples of the Russian Empire.
Photos of Early Soviet Russia, 1919-1930
Americans in the Land of Lenin: 750 photographs of every-day life in the Soviet Union (1919-1921 and 1930) from the papers of Robert L. Eichelberger and Frank Whitson Fetter.
Images of Russia and Caucasus Region 1929-1933
This digital collection presents over 700 images of Russia and the Caucasus region, particularly of rural areas in Georgia and Dagestan.
Germany and The Soviet Union - November 1937 to July 1938
Translated documents presented online by Yale University's Avalon Project.
Nazi-Soviet Relations 1939-1941
Translated documents presented online by Yale University's Avalon Project.

Find historical monographs, government documents, videos, and more

Use this form to search either the collection of books here at the NEIU Library, or the larger collection of books available to you through the I-Share network of libraries:

Chicago Style citation tips

Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide
Examples of materials cited according to The Chicago Manual of Style.

Should I be using Google or the NEIU Libraries' resources?

In this video, you will learn what is especially valuable about library resources, versus what you can find for free on the internet.

Length: 1:40