You'll need your NEIU NetID and password to access these resources.
If you don't find what you need here, please try general databases listed below.
This link opens in a new windowReferences to articles on every aspect of classical and popular world music, 1979 to present.
This link opens in a new windowReferences to articles covering music and music-related disciplines from the early 19th century to the present.
In this video, you will learn how to evaluate the difference between scholarly journals and other kinds of periodicals, and how to describe the peer-review process.
Length: 1:24
In this video, you will learn how to create and use keywords based on your research topic to search in an academic database.
Length: 1:28
The following databases have some musical content.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowAn historical, fulltext archive of core journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
This link opens in a new windowFull text journal collection of current humanities and social sciences journals from over 60 scholarly publishers.
This link opens in a new windowReferences to articles from over 10,000 full text journals on a wide range of academic areas. Included is a searchable collection of images plus videos from the Associated Press from 1930 to the present.
1. From the Google Scholar homepage (scholar.google.com), click on the three lines icon in the top left corner.
2. Click on Settings at the bottom of the list. From the Settings window, click on Library Links from the list on the left-hand side.
4. Type “NEIU” in the search box and check the boxes for “NEIU Ronald Williams Library – Find it @ NEIU” (Open WorldCat – Library Search will be checked by default.)
4. Save your settings.
5. Now when you search Google Scholar, you will see a link to the right of each article that is available through one of the NEIU Libraries' database subscriptions or freely on the web.
6. Click on “Find It @ NEIU” to see if we have a copy in full text. If an article is available through one of the NEIU Libraries' database subscriptions, you will see a link under “Full text now?” Click on “Go” to access the article. If we don't have a copy, click on the WorldShare interlibrary loan link to request a PDF copy.
