The Government Information Center of the Ronald Williams Library at NEIU serves the University community and the citizens of the 5th Congressional District in Illinois. It has been a selective depository for the publications of the federal government since 1963 and a complete depository for state of Illinois publications since 1968.
Please be aware that many of the items in our Government Documents collection are historical in nature. These historical items cannot be relied upon to provide accurate or current advice regarding any laws, policies, or procedures.
April 8, 2024, will see a spectacular solar eclipse. Chicago will experience around 95% totality! The library has limited supplies of eclipse glasses to distribute on that day. Practice safe eclipse viewing, and enjoy an assortment of eclipse-related resources from the NEIU Libraries and NASA.
Books on Display on the Second Floor Desk:
50 Years of Solar System Exploration by 
The sun, the earth, and near-earth space : a guide to the sun-earth system by 
Earth As Art by Further Readings and Internet Resources:
NEIU Libraries has a number of resources for immigrants that can be checked out. Some of these are located on the large desk on the second floor. Additionally, there are many great resources from the United States Government that can assist with immigration and naturalization.
Concerned about air quality? AirNow.gov has you covered. Complete with maps and lists of primary pollutants in our air, this site provides all the information you need regarding how air quality is affecting your health.
Looking for amazing free images? Smithsonian Open Access is a new venture by the Smithsonian institution that provides millions of free-to-use images taken from the collections of the Smithsonian museums.
The Covid Archive is a digital finding aid for the digital archive of government documents related to the response of U.S. federal and state governments to the Covid 19 pandemic.
The finding aid provides an index to more than 3,000 government documents related to the pandemic response that were identified by the Covid Tracking Project and digitally preserved by DPLA. To our knowledge, this is the most comprehensive archive of documents related to the Covid-19 pandemic in the United States.
Guides to LGBTQIA+ resources and information from other Federal Depository Libraries
The 1950 census records were released by the U.S. National Archives on April 1, 2022. This website provides full access to the 1950 census images, including population schedules, enumeration district maps, and enumeration district descriptions.
Information from the White House on the nomination of Ketanji Brown Jackson to the United States Supreme Court.
The National Archives celebrates Women’s History Month, recognizing the great contributions that women have made to our nation. Learn about the history of women in the United States by exploring their stories through letters, photographs, film, and other primary sources.
Various UFO-related documents made available by the National Security Agency Central Security Service.
Guides to African American history and the Civil Rights movement from other Federal Depository Libraries
Information from the Illinois Department of Public Health, including the Restore Illinois plan
Information on Covid-19 from the City of Chicago
Coronavirus information and guidance from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
Government documents are located on the 2nd floor of the Ronald Williams Library and are indicated by with the prefix DOC.
Federal publications are organized under the Superintendent of Documents classification scheme (SuDocs) which categorizes documents based on the publishing department or agency and the individual item number.
For example:
DOC.CSA 1.10:SU6 Geographic Distribution of Federal Funds in Summary. The first part of the call number (DOC.) indicates that this document is located on the 2nd floor. The CSA represents the publishing agency (in this instance the Community Services Administration) and the final part represents the indivdiual item.
Publications of the State of Illinois are indicated by the prefix DOC.IL and are organized under the Nakata-Strange classificaiton scheme, which also categorizes documents based on the publishing department or agency and the individual item number.
Publications of the City of Chicago and of Cook County are indicated by the prefix DOC.CHI. and are organized under the Library of Congress classification system like most of the other books in the library.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new windowThis subject guide was designed for NEIU by Anthony Sigismondi, MLIS as part of the practicum program at the University of Illinois Graduate School of Library and Information Science.
