Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Government Information Guide

Welcome

In the News

Image of a Coronavirus

DPLA releases The Covid Archive as a free e-book

The Covid Archive is a digital finding aid for the digital archive of government documents related to the response of U.S. federal and state governments to the Covid 19 pandemic.

The finding aid provides an index to more than 3,000 government documents related to the pandemic response that were identified by the Covid Tracking Project and digitally preserved by DPLA. To our knowledge, this is the most comprehensive archive of documents related to the Covid-19 pandemic in the United States.

Pride Flag

FDLP LibGuides: LGBTQIA+

Guides to LGBTQIA+ resources and information from other Federal Depository Libraries

Individual Census Report form from the 1950 Census

1950 Census

The 1950 census records were released by the U.S. National Archives on April 1, 2022. This website provides full access to the 1950 census images, including population schedules, enumeration district maps, and enumeration district descriptions.

Judge Ketanji Brown Jackson

President Biden Nominates Ketanji Brown Jackson to Serve on the U.S. Supreme Court

Information from the White House on the nomination of Ketanji Brown Jackson to the United States Supreme Court.

Riveter at Lockheed Aircraft Corporation, Burbank, California., 1940-1945

Women's History Month resources from the National Archives

The National Archives celebrates Women’s History Month, recognizing the great contributions that women have made to our nation. Learn about the history of women in the United States by exploring their stories through letters, photographs, film, and other primary sources.

Novelty UFO building

UFO Documents Index - NSA|CSS

Various UFO-related documents made available by the National Security Agency Central Security Service.

The Rev. Martin Luther King Jr. delivers his “I Have a Dream” speech during the March on Washington, August 28, 1963.

FDLP LibGuides: African American History and the Civil Rights Movement

Guides to African American history and the Civil Rights movement from other Federal Depository Libraries

Diagram of Coronavirus

Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19)

Information from the Illinois Department of Public Health, including the Restore Illinois plan

Flag of the City of Chicago

Coronavirus Response Center

Information on Covid-19 from the City of Chicago

Seal of the State of Illinois

Executive and Administrative Orders

Illinois executive orders, including stay-at-home order and subsequent amendments

CDC logo

Coronavirus (COVID-19)

Coronavirus information and guidance from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)

Finding Government Documents at NEIU

Government documents are located on the 2nd floor of the Ronald Williiams Library and in the first-floor reference collection.  They are organized by Library of Congress call numbers and can be identified through the library's main catalog.  Items with the prefix DOC. are located on the 2nd floor while those materials with only the prefix REF. can be found in first-floor reference collection.

Examples: 

DOC.REF.KF18 L5 Digest of Public General Bills and Resolutions is located on the 2nd floor.

or

REF.JK1 C66 Congressional Quarterly is located on the 1st floor.

However, some publications on the 2nd floor are organized under the Superintendent of Documents classification scheme (SuDocs) which categorizes documents based on the publishing department or agency and the individual item number.  

Example: 

DOC.CSA 1.10:SU6 Geographic Distribution of Federal Funds in Summary.  The first part of the call number (DOC.) indicates that this document is located on the 2nd floor.  The CSA represents the publishing agency (in this instance the Community Services Administration) and the final part represents the indivdiual item.

Online Search Engines

How to Cite Government Publications

Special Thanks

This subject guide was designed for NEIU by Anthony Sigismondi, MLIS as part of the practicum program at the University of Illinois Graduate School of Library and Information Science.