NEIU Libraries Research Guides: Education Research Guide: SCED 301/311

Great Sites for Creating Units and Lesson Plans

CK-12 Foundation
A nonprofit organization that develops free textbooks (and teacher support materials) with the cooperation of teachers from around the country -- CK-12 specializes in math and science, but some other titles are also available.
Curriculum Units (Yale-New Haven Teachers Institute)
Many units for all ages and disciplines, created by fellows at the Teachers Institute.

Digital Theatre+
In addition to streaming video of theater productions, Digital Theater+ provides hundreds of lesson plans for students of various ages.

DOCSTeach
Thousands of primary source documents preserved at the National Archives.
Khan Academy
Lessons on concepts from math, science, and the humanities presented as free online video clips, designed for use by both teachers and learners.
Learning for Justice
K-12 teaching materials on social justice, civic engagement, identity, and more.
Library of Congress - Teacher Resources
Historical documents, photos, film clips, and more from the Library of Congress, including lesson plans and resources.
National Geographic Classroom Resources
Lesson plans, maps, and reference resources for PK-12 in many subjects.
PBS Teacher Source
PBS Teachers is PBS's website that provides preK-12 educational resources, often in connection with PBS series. Classroom materials suitable for a wide range of subjects and grade levels.
PE Central
This site offers free lesson planning and professional development resources for teachers on physical education and health.
ReadThinkWrite
The National Council of Teachers of English's site that provides materials for reading and language arts.
Share My Lesson
The AFT's lesson-sharing site for educators
Stanford History Education Group
Over 150 document based historical lesson plans on U.S. and World History.

TeachingBooks
An ever-expanding database of digital resources about children's and young adult books and their authors and illustrators

Understanding Science
Free-access Internet resource funded by the National Science Foundation -- primarily focused on developing scientific understanding and principles of good teaching, with some example lessons available.

To find journal articles and other helpful resources, choose an education database from the library website, or search in one of the following databases:

ERIC (EBSCOhost)
Index of journal articles, books, theses, curriculum guides, conference papers, standards, and guidelines on a wide range of education topics. Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education.
Professional Development Collection
Specialized information for librarians, teachers, and education researchers.

Annenberg Learner Videos
Teacher resources and teacher professional development programming across the curriculum. Once at the site, filter by subject.