NEIU Libraries Research Guides: Psychology & Gerontology Research Guide: PSYC 402: Developmental Processes in Later Life

Databases - Search for Articles

PsycInfo
References to articles, books, and more on the psychological, social, and behavioral sciences, 1806 to present.
Abstracts in Social Gerontology
Abstracts in Social Gerontology features over 110,000 records (1966-present) that cover a variety of subjects related to aging.
AgeLine
The premier source for the literature of social gerontology and includes aging-related content from the health sciences, psychology, sociology, social work, economics, and public policy,

Searching Abstracts in Social Gerontology and AgeLine

Online Reference Resources

International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Sciences
Call Number: AVAILABLE ONLINE
ISBN: 0080430767
Although published in 2001, this 26 volume encyclopedia remains the unparalleled reference source spanning the full range of the social and behavioral sciences. Search Tip: Search within the publication or consult the "Book Index"
Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography
Call Number: ONLINE
ISBN: 9780684315591
Biographical articles on the professional lives of scientists from classical antiquity to modern times.

Search Tip:: Click on "Book Index" and type psychologists
Handbook of Psychology
ISBN: 9780470619049
Search Tip: To search by keyword, click on "Search within this book>" in the upper right of the page instead of using the search box provided. Theorists do not have entries, but are discussed in context within articles.
Encyclopedia of Gerontology
ISBN: 9780123705303
Encyclopedia of Human Development
Call Number: ONLINE
ISBN: 9781412904759
The field of human development focuses on the growth and development of the human being, including physical, social, psychological, and emotional development from conception through death. Search Tip: Click on the "Readers Guide" tab to browse by subject. This title is less useful for detailed treatment of individual theorists.
Encyclopedia of the Life Course and Human Development
ISBN: 9780028661629
Examines three key life stages from a sociological perspective. The life stages examined are: Childhood and Adolescence; Adulthood; and Later Life. Search Tip: Search within the publication or consult the "Book Index"
Encyclopedia of Applied Developmental Science
Call Number: ONLINE
ISBN: 9780761928201
Applied developmental science (ADS) seeks to advance the integration of developmental research with actions that promote positive development and/or enhance the life chances of vulnerable children, adolescents, young and old adults, and their families.
Handbook of Theories of Aging
Call Number: AVAILABLE ONLINE
ISBN: 9780826162519
21st Century Psychology: A Reference Handbook
Call Number: ONLINE
ISBN: 9781412949682
Publication Date: 2008
Corsini Encylopedia of Psychology
Call Number: ONLINE
ISBN: 0470170247

Cite Sources in APA

APA Quick Guide
Academic Writer Tutorial: Basics of Seventh Edition APA Style
from the official APA website
General Format on APA Formatting and Style Guide
from Purdue OWL
APA Style Tutorials & Webinars
from the official APA website

<< Previous: PSYC 401: Gerontology: An Overview
Next: PSYC 408: Research Methods >>