NEIU Libraries Research Guides: University Archives Guide: Library Databases and Other Archival Sources

Other Archival Sources on the Web

National Archives
The National Archives website provides access to a wealth of information on many aspects of American history.
Library of Congress
The Library's mission is to make its resources available and useful to the Congress and the American people, and to sustain and preserve a universal collection of knowledge and creativity for future generations.
International Networks Archive
This website is "creating an archive of globalization that spans 2000 years, culminating in the production of an Atlas of Globalization that will introduce a new system of mapping based on global transactions instead of geography."
Early Chicago, 1833–1871
Documents from the Illinois State Archives that detail the early history of Chicago.
Illinois State Archives Depository (IRAD) System
Administrative histories, county fact sheets, databases, and local governmental records listings from the Illinois State Archives Depository System.
Black Freedom Struggle website
This free resource from ProQuest contains a selection of 2000 primary source documents including historical newspaper articles, pamphlets, diaries, correspondence and more that highlight the triumphs and resiliency of African Americans in the pursuit of equality through six periods of history.

Citing Archival Materials

Citing Archival Resources from Purdue University's Online Writing Lab (OWL)
This page provides information on properly citing archival sources for research papers and projects.

Library Databases for Historical Materials (NEIU login required for access)

African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provide access to U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience, including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles.
African American Periodicals, 1825-1995 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search more than 170 African American Periodicals published between 1825 and 1995
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
References to articles and books on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present, indexing 1964 to present.
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 1-5 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 6,500 periodical titles dating from 1684 to 1912, with a focus on the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction. The collection's periodicals cover almost every facet of American life, including science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women’s fashion, family life, and religion.
American History in Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of award-winning documentaries and newsreels, including the complete series of United Newsreel and Universal Newsreel
Archival Films & Newsreels Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This streaming video collection contains thousands of archival and historical films including, but not limited to, newsreels produced by Universal Newsreel and the National Archives and Records Administration.
Chicago Tribune Historical This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text, 1849-1999
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
References to articles and books on the history of the world focusing on the 15th century to the present (excluding the United States and Canada), indexing 1955 to present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An historical, fulltext archive of core journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
New York Times Historical 1851-2013 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Historical collection offers full page and article images with searchable full text.
PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
References to articles, books, and more on the psychological, social, and behavioral sciences, 1806 to present.
Women & Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Resource focusing on the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000. The collection includes full-text documents, book, film, and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools.