This collection contains selected images and text from the University Archives covering the history of Northeastern Illinois University from the 1960s to the early 1980s. Included are items documenting campus construction, student life, and visits to campus by prominent public figures. These items originate from photographic prints, student published periodicals, and two monographs published by the University.
The Chicago Parental School was a reform institution located near Foster and St. Louis Avenues, where Northeastern Illinois University now stands. This collection contains selected text and images that document the history of The Chicago Parental School from 1911 to 1983. Included are items that describe the program of the Parental School, photographic prints, a map of the original location of the school, and Northeastern Illinois University student newspaper articles that cover the history and demise of the Parental School.
This collection showcases Northeastern Illinois University yearbooks from 1964 to 1982. Having evolved from a local teachers college to a state university within a short time frame, Northeastern Illinois University went through several institutional name changes as well. The presented yearbooks reflect the evolution of the university, and are an enduring resource for alumni and researchers alike.
Inner City Issues was a publication of the Center for Inner City Studies (CICS), which was established by Northeastern Illinois University in 1966 and renamed the Carruthers Center for Inner City Studies (CCICS) in 2004 in honor of Dr. Jacob H. Carruthers, a CICS professor and administrator who was responsible for promoting the Center's international reputation within the worldwide African community during the 1970s and 1980s. Inner City Issues was published in the late 1960s and early 1970s by the "Concerned Graduate Organization." It featured academic works, as well as poems and editorials, focusing on the inner city experience.
Que Ondee Sola (Northeastern Illinois University)
Founded in 1972 Que Ondee Sola remains the oldest Latinx/a/o student magazine in the U.S. Que Ondee Sola was established on the idea of being an engaging publication that deals with issues on Puerto Ricans, Latinxs/as/os, our communities and patrias. We seek to be advocates for the resources and needs of our Latinx/a/o student body at NEIU and beyond.
...like it is (Northeastern Illinois University)
Like It Is is a paper for Northeastern Illinois College. It is designed to improve communications among the various groups comprising the college community; administration, faculty, student body and staff. The collection runs 26 issues in the year 1971.
The Muse was an arts magazine published by NEIU students. The collection contains three issues.
This digital collection contains a scanned copy of the official transcripts of the CWRIC hearings that were held on the Northeastern Illinois University campus in 1981. The 823 page transcript has been split into smaller segments in order to facilitate access to individual testimonies. Each segment has been numbered according to the order of its appearance within the larger transcript. To read the transcript in its entirety, begin at the section titled 001- Volume 1: Front Matter and proceed in numerical order to the item titled 137- Volume 2: Closing Statements. Some pages will be duplicated if read in this manner, since testimonies may begin and end mid-page. Most segments contain individual testimonies or question and answer exchanges.
These collections consist of the digitized audiovisual files for the federal Commission on Wartime Incarceration and Internment of Civilians hearing held on the NEIU campus in September 1981 and a related University conference from the same year.
The collection includes legislative files, correspondence, press releases, articles, bills, floor speeches, awards, photos, and campaign materials spanning Representative Gutiérrez's congressional career. The collection was donated to NEIU by the Congressman in 2018.