There are several ways to find articles. If you're new to research or you want to run a general search, we recommend using the NEIU Libraries Search Bar. The Library Search bar is a great way to see what's out there on a topic or to see if we have a specific article. Click here for instructions on using the Library Search Bar.
If you want to do more in-depth research in an area, our librarians recommend searching in a subject-specific database. Academic Databases are searchable, online collections of scholarly research sources like journal articles, conference papers, theses, etc. They are useful for more focused or developed research projects. Click here for instructions on searching in a database.
Note: For best results, Sign In to see the request options available to you. Click the Sign in link on the yellow bar to log in using your NEIU NetId (same as NEIUport, D2L, and Nmail).
Enter your keyword into the main search box.
Filter your results on the left under Resource type to Articles.
Once you have the results list from your search, you can further refine it by adding some filters:
Begin by choosing a databases from the NEIU Libraries list of database subscriptions and clicking on the link
Tips for selecting a database:
You may be prompted to log into the database. Log in using your NetID and password (the same information you use to log into NEIUport and D2L)
Note: Different databases may look slightly different, but they function in very similar ways
Begin by entering your keyword in the search bar and clicking "Search"
Databases contain lots of different types of information. You'll need to limit your results to be sure you're only seeing peer-reviewed journal articles. This option can be found in different spots depending on the database you've selected
Once you've selected the "peer reviewed" check box, everything you see should be a peer-reviewed journal article. Scroll through your results and consider adding/removing keywords depending on what you're seeing.
Once you have the results list from your search, you can further refine it by adding some filters:
There are a lot of ways you can use a database! For more advanced tips, please visit our Database Search Tips Guide
Note: You must be signed in to view request options.
Full-text of articles are available through the library. Login to get PDFs and other versions of many articles
If the NEIU Libraries has immediate access to a journal article, you'll see links under the "View Online" portion of the record. Choose and click on a link in order to open and download the article directly from the database.
Note: If there isn't a "View Online" portion of the record, this may mean that we do not have immediate access to this particular article. You may be able to request a PDF of the article through our WorldShare Interlibrary Loan program. Please see our Requesting Articles Through WorldShare instructions below
You will likely encounter two different icons related to article accessibility in the databases
This icon means you can download the journal article immediately. Click on the link to download the PDF
This icon means that this particular article is not available through the database you're searching. Click on the button to be brought to the article record on the NEIU Libraries website - look under "View It" to find the article in other databases, or under "How to Get It" to fill out a WorldShare request
If NEIU Libraries do not have the full-text of an article, place a request through WorldShare. These can arrive as soon as one business day to several weeks, but most come quickly.
If you have found an article but you are not sure if it is peer reviewed, there are several easy ways to check:
The article should show up as your top result. Look for the peer reviewed icon underneath the title.
If the peer reviewed icon is displayed, this is a peer reviewed article.
One of the best places to find out if a journal is peer-reviewed is to go to the journal website. To find the name of the journal the article was published in, check the citation. The journal name is highlighted in the citation below:
Once you have the name of the journal, you can type it into google to find the journal's website. Most publishers have a website for a journal that tells you about the journal, how authors can submit an article, and what the process is for getting published.
If you find the journal website, look for the link that says information for authors, instructions for authors, submitting an article or something similar.
What is an empirical article?
An empirical research article is an article which reports original research based on actual observations and experiments.
What is a theoretical article?
A theoretical article is an article that uses existing research to present a new theory or advance an existing theory. Does not report on original research, but uses existing research.
How can I tell if I found an empirical article?
Characteristics of an Empirical Article:
Type of publications that publish empirical studies:
| Academic Search Ultimate | ERIC | PychInfo |
|
Click “Advanced Search” under the search bar. Type your search term/s in the search boxes. Limit your search options below:
|
Click “Advanced Search” under the search bar. Type your search term/s in the search boxes. Limit your search options below:
|
Click the “Edit Limits” button in the blue box.
Under “Limits”:
Choose the search term you would like to use, click “Continue”. Once you have one set of articles for your search term, perform another search for your other search term, and then combine your search. |
You can sync your Google Scholar account with the library databases to easily find and access full-text via the NEIU Libraries' Subscriptions.
From Google Scholar, click on the hamburger menu button in the top left-hand corner of the screen.
(note: you must be signed into your NEIU email address under the icon in the top right-hand corner of the screen)
On the hamburger menu, click on Settings
Click on "Library Links" from the options on the left-hand side of the page. Search for, add, and save the following libraries to link the accounts:
Once you've synced your Google Scholar account with the NEIU Libraries, you can easily find and access content that would normally be behind a paywall.
In Google Scholar, search for the full and exact Article title in quotes.
Running this search will bring you directly to the article you're looking for. You can access or request the article via an NEIU Libraries subscription by locating the Get It @ NEIU tool and clicking on it.
Note: This tool can be found as a link to the right of the article title or under the article description hidden behind the >> button.
