Faculty Guide to the Library

A selection of over 1,000 narrative feature films, documentaries and shorts curated by film scholars and critics

Essential historical and current material for researching the past, present and future of African Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself.

This collection features award-winning documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage surveying the evolution of black culture in the United States, many from producers California Newsreel and Filmmakers Library. At present, the collection includes 145 videos, totaling 141 hours, going back to 1969. Many of the videos also have transcriptions.

Full text newspapers and magazines published by ethnic, minority, and native presses in English and Spanish, 1990 to present (coverage varies by title).

This streaming video collection contains over 23,000 titles from a wide-range of disciplines. Content comes from well-known educational media producers such as California Newsreel, Films for the Humanities and Sciences, PBS, and many more.

Quality original language documentaries from some of the most important producers and independent filmmakers in Latin America.

A searchable full text collection of poetry, fiction, and drama written in English and Spanish by hundreds of Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican, and other Latin authors working in the United States.

Resource focusing on the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000. The collection includes full-text documents, book, film, and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools.

Gather background information on your topic from hundreds of full-text encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos.

Packed with tutorials, practice tests, e-books and high-stakes test preparation for self-guided skill building, career preparation and workforce readiness.