NEIU Libraries Research Guides: Justice Studies Research Guide: JUST 101: Bernstein

Search NEIU Libraries Collections

Academic Databases for Scholarly Social Justice Research

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
References to articles from over 10,000 full text journals on a wide range of academic areas. Included is a searchable collection of images plus videos from the Associated Press from 1930 to the present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An historical, fulltext archive of core journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
References to articles, books, and more on sociology and related disciplines, 1952 to present.
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
References to articles and other publications on social work, human services, and related areas, 1979 to present.
Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text database with scholarly journal articles and other sources on criminology, corrections administration, criminal law, criminal justice, law enforcement, addition, family law, industrial security, and rehabilitation, 1981 to present.
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
References to articles for subjects relating to education, family, gerontology, health services, housing, mental health services, nursing, social work, and substance abuse, 1987 to present.

News Sources and Interviews

Boston Globe
San Francisco Chronicle
Not available through the library website.
Washington Post

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A source of comprehensive reporting and analysis on news and current events, 1923 to present.
New York Times via ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text, 1980-present
Nexis Uni
Note: Due to budget cuts, access to this database ended on June 30, 2024.
Please consider the following as alternatives:
- Legal Source
- Business Source Premier
- Regional Business News

Websites for the Voting Rights Act

ACLU | Voting Rights
Features summary, current issues, news, and videos related to voting rights.
NAACP | Civic Engagement
The NAACP registers hundreds of thousands of Americans to vote and equip vulnerable communities with the resources to fight back against attacks on fundamental voting rights through their nationwide campaign, This is My Vote.
Lawyers Committee for Civil Rights Under Law | Voting Rights Project
Since 1965, the Lawyers’ Committee has been at the forefront of the legal struggle to advance and protect the right to vote and to ensure that the right is afforded equally to all. Their Voting Rights Project has had a tremendous positive impact on communities of color, low-income communities, youth, people with disabilities, and other traditionally disenfranchised populations.
Sentencing Project | Voting Rights
Established in 1986, The Sentencing Project works for a fair and effective U.S. criminal justice system by promoting reforms in sentencing policy, addressing unjust racial disparities and practices, and advocating for alternatives to incarceration. Some sources out of date.
Civil Rights.Org | Voting Rights
Voting Rights Act for Today is a project of The Leadership Conference on Civil and Human Rights. This site is dedicated to building bipartisan support in Congress for legislation that will restore and strengthen the Voting Rights Act.
Brennan Center for Justice | Voting Rights Act
Sponsored by the NYU School of Law, this web portal features history, news clips, publications, opinion editorials, and blog posts about the Voting Rights Act.

Websites for Social Justice Issues

ACLU | American Civil Liberties Union
The ACLU works to defend and preserve the individual rights and liberties guaranteed by the Constitution and laws of the United States. Their website links to resources on policy affecting criminal punishment, disability rights, free speech, human rights, immigrants rights, mass incarceration, racial justice, religious liberty, and women's rights.
Southern Poverty Law Center
Great web resource focused on national course cases related to Children’s Rights, Economic Justice, Immigrant Justice, LGBT Rights, and Mass Incarceration.
AFL-CIO
The umbrella federation for America's unions, the AFL-CIO advocates workers rights, fair wages, affordable health care, retirement security, quality education for our children, job safety and civil and workplace rights.

Videos at the Library

Streaming Videos

Black Studies in Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This collection features award-winning documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage surveying the evolution of black culture in the United States, many from producers California Newsreel and Filmmakers Library. At present, the collection includes 145 videos, totaling 141 hours, going back to 1969. Many of the videos also have transcriptions.