NEIU Libraries Research Guides: Justice Studies Research Guide: JUST 305: Martensen

Finding Books

WorldCat Discovery Library Catalog Search
ou can search for books relevant to your topic by using the search box located at the center of the NEIU library website. Try searching for multiple keywords, one after the other, such as incarceration immigrant Latino. Place entire phrases in quotation marks: "Disproportionate minority contact". After clicking the Search button to get your search results, use the "Sort by" drop-down menu in the upper right to sort your results by "Relevance Only" in order to see the results most relevant to your search terms, no matter which library offers them. On the left side of the results screen, under Format, check the box next to Book to limit your results to books, ebooks, and theses/dissertations.
I-Share in NEIU Libraries Catalog
Use I-Share to search for and request books held at Illinois libraries beyond NEIU.

Finding Scholarly Articles - Select Databases

These databases contain articles that have been peer-reviewed. However, they may also contain popular articles that have not been peer-reviewed. Be sure to check the box for scholarly or peer-reviewed articles when searching in the databases. Still not sure? Ask a librarian for additional help.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
References to articles from over 10,000 full text journals on a wide range of academic areas. Included is a searchable collection of images plus videos from the Associated Press from 1930 to the present.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
References to articles and books on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present, indexing 1964 to present.
Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text database with scholarly journal articles and other sources on criminology, corrections administration, criminal law, criminal justice, law enforcement, addition, family law, industrial security, and rehabilitation, 1981 to present.
Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full text of articles from over 350 journals as far back as 1996, in addition to indexing of more than 770 periodicals dating back to 1983.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
References to articles, books, and more on national and international political, social, and public policy issues, 1915 to present.
Social Sciences Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracts of more than 770 periodicals, nearly 700 of which are peer-reviewed. Among these are many of the most important English-language social science journals. It offers coverage dating back to 1972.
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
References to articles and other publications on social work, human services, and related areas, 1979 to present.

Finding Newspaper Articles

Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text newspapers and magazines published by ethnic, minority, and native presses in English and Spanish, 1990 to present (coverage varies by title).

Citations & Bibliographies

General Format on APA Formatting and Style Guide
from Purdue OWL

How should I search in a database?

In this video, you will learn how to create and use keywords based on your research topic to search in an academic database.

Length: 1:28