NEIU Libraries Research Guides: Justice Studies Research Guide: JUST 109: McFarlin

Search for Books

Primo VE (NEIU Libraries Catalog)
This is an NEIU-specific interface for searching OCLC's WorldCat, a catalog that unifies thousands of libraries from across the country and around the world. It's ideal for searching out books rare or obscure enough that they cannot be found in our 75 member I-Share network here in Illinois, which this catalog also encompasses.

Search for Articles

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
References to articles from over 10,000 full text journals on a wide range of academic areas. Included is a searchable collection of images plus videos from the Associated Press from 1930 to the present.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
References to articles and books on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present, indexing 1964 to present.
Chicago Tribune Historical and Current This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text, 1849-Present

Search digital collections

Digital Public Library of America
A range of organizations, including the Library of Congress, HathiTrust, and the Internet Archive, have successfully built resources that provide books, images, historic records, and audiovisual materials to anyone with Internet access. Many universities, public libraries, and other public-spirited organizations have digitized materials, but these digital collections often exist in silos. The DPLA brings these different viewpoints, experiences, and collections together in a single platform and portal, providing open and coherent access to our society’s digitized cultural heritage.

How should I search in a database?

In this video, you will learn how to create and use keywords based on your research topic to search in an academic database.

Length: 1:28

Find the Full Text of an Article

If you start your search at the NEIU Libraries homepage, the links you follow will identify you as an NEIU user. This will help simplify linking to our resources.

Once you do a search in an article database, use links like these to get the full text of the article:

They will link you to the NEIU Libraries catalog and let you know if we have a subscription to the article, making it available immediately via a link.

If the full text of an article is not available online, you will be directed to request a copy of the article through WorldShare interlibrary loan.