NEIU Libraries Research Guides: Justice Studies Research Guide: Articles & Databases

Social Sciences Librarian

Contact:

3390 N Avondale Ave, Chicago, IL 60618
cmcogswe@neiu.edu

(773) 442-4495

Subjects: Anthropology, Justice Studies, Social Work

Scholarly Databases

If you need a "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" article, try searching in the following databases. Note: for many of the databases you will need to check a box that says "Scholarly Journals" in order to limit your search to scholarly content.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
References to articles from over 10,000 full text journals on a wide range of academic areas. Included is a searchable collection of images plus videos from the Associated Press from 1930 to the present.
Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text database with scholarly journal articles and other sources on criminology, corrections administration, criminal law, criminal justice, law enforcement, addition, family law, industrial security, and rehabilitation, 1981 to present.
Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full text of articles from over 350 journals as far back as 1996, in addition to indexing of more than 770 periodicals dating back to 1983.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
In your browser under Settings, set Library links to "NEIU Ronald Williams Library - Full Text @ NEIU" to access to the NEIU Libraries' Subscriptions through Google Scholar. In the results list click the >> icon to see the Find It @ NEIU link.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An historical, fulltext archive of core journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service Virtual Library This link opens in a new window
Full-text publications from the NCJRS Web on justice and substance abuse.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790 with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types.
Social Sciences Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracts of more than 770 periodicals, nearly 700 of which are peer-reviewed. Among these are many of the most important English-language social science journals. It offers coverage dating back to 1972.
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
References to articles and other publications on social work, human services, and related areas, 1979 to present.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
References to articles from the international literature of political science and international relations, including international law and public administration/policy.
https://proquest.libguides.com/wpsa

Full-text Justice Studies Journals

These are some of the most-cited scholarly journals in Criminology and Justice Studies, which the library has in full-text.

News and Magazine Articles

African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provide access to U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience, including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles.
Chicago Tribune Historical plus Current 1849-Present This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Complete access to the Tribune's archives from 1849 to today
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text newspapers and magazines published by ethnic, minority, and native presses in English and Spanish, 1990 to present (coverage varies by title).
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text electronic editions of record for local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers, including small-town newspapers not covered by America's Newspapers or Nexis Uni.

Google News
Comprehensive up-to-date and recent news coverage, aggregated from sources all over the world, including local sources.

U.S. Major Dailies via ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search the 5 top U.S. newspapers in one place: Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post

How should I search in a database?

In this video, you will learn how to create and use keywords based on your research topic to search in an academic database.

Length: 1:28

Find the Full Text of an Article

This button provides direct links from the NEIU Libraries' databases to online full-text articles, when available. If the full text of an article is not available online, request a copy of the article through WorldShare interlibrary loan.

Or search for a specific journal by Title or ISSN.

Journal Finder: Search by journal/magazine title